We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So many flavours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butch's Dry Dock

Butch's Dry Dock
Reserve with OpenTable
Butch's Dry Dock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 229 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: For more than 25 years, Butch TerHaar has strived to create a place where people can celebrate the marriage of food and drink. Today, Butch's is one of fewer than 800 restaurants worldwide (and one of 10 in Michigan) to hold Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence. Building on our exceptional wine and beer offerings, our menu is expressly designed to enhance the experience of enjoying food and drink together.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So many flavours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had dinner here our second night in Michigan. It was great walking around downtown Holland before dinner. Our waitress and the staff were very friendly. This place is a little more pricey for the portions but the food is great. They have an awesome variety of drinks. They asked if we were celebrating anything and when finding out it was our anniversary weekend they gave us a dessert on the house.(this was the only restaurant that asked and did something special for us all weekend) Our dinning experience at Butch's was the best. We greatly enjoyed it and would come back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deidrek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    67
    20
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Dinner out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a find! I would suggest reservations for dinner at this great restaurant right in the heart of lovely downtown Holland. We were there on a Thursday night and the place was quite busy. Service was fantastic as was the food. An extensive wine/beer list as well as interesting cocktails. When they found out it was our anniversary, we were given a free dessert which was delicious. You don't need to dress up but I wouldn't show up in shorts or flip flops for dinner. It looks like a great spot for lunch too! It is a bit pricey for dinner but we had fish entrees (lobster and sea bass creations). Two cocktails, 2 very nice salads, 2 awesome entrees and 2 yummy desserts put us at just under $95.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
“Too Expensive - Are we in New York City?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food at Butch's has never really been outstanding, we've eaten there primarily because of the atmosphere and location, however, the menu prices keep rising, and have risen astronomically, while other restaurants in the downtown Holland area keep their prices the same. If we wanted to pay $30 for chicken we would have gone out for dinner in NYC or LA, not Holland Michigan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaigeV928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
240 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Long List of Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I visited Butch's for lunch with my 9-year old daughter for a break from shopping in Holland's downtown on a Wednesday afternoon. The restaurant offers a formal area and a pub area -- both sections offer the same menu, which includes a long list of sandwiches, soups, and salads. I had a "Manhattan Transfer" (a Reuben) that included a salad. My daughter ordered a "Toms Hot Tuna", but a grilled cheese was delivered (she didn't care). I also had a pint of Butch's Dry Hop, which was a nice complement to the Reuben. Service was friendly and the place was filled with locals, college students, and business people (since it was mid-week lunch time). The restaurant is beautiful, with crisp white table cloths in the formal area (no table cloths in the pub area, but who needs a table cloth to eat a sandwich). Butch's is in the center of Holland's beautiful downtown, which is filled with other restaurants and shops. Free parking is available along the street in front, or a large parking lot in the rear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really good food, Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food was outstanding, and our waiter was great. I had the meatloaf that was on special and the wife had their mac and cheese. It was the best meatloaf I've ever had. The Mac and Cheese was pretty good, but not outstanding, but it came with a lot of food! The waiter kept our glasses full the entire time we were there and checked on us often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjoslin2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butch's Dry Dock also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Butch's Dry Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing