We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, no sound proofing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Clean room, no sound proofing!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Nicely appointed room, the bathroom is small, the bed was comfortable and clean, but there is no sound proofing going on here at all. we could hear the ice settling in the ice bucket in the room next door!!! any talking in the hallway, sounded like it was right in the room.

This was our wedding night and out of fear of noise... you can fill in the blanks here!!! I guess that makes the sleep quality excellent, since we only slept. :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    220
    135
    63
    32
See reviews for
259
155
22
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our stay at this hotel greatly exceeded our expectations! We had a 4-star experience for a 3-star price! The staff at this hotel was amazing!! We loved our bartenders: Pam & Dave. Also, Andrew was exceptional at the front desk. Lastly, Blythe, our breakfast waitress was phenomenal and went above and beyond her call of duty!

I highly recommend this hotel to families, business travelers, and party folks.

The only downfall this hotel has is the small bathrooms in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Dori M.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to see that you and yours enjoyed your experience with us. Our staff is extremely accommodating and loves to go "the extra mile." Your comments will surely be passed along to the rest of our staff, as they love hearing that their hard work is appreciated. Hopefully you find yourselves in Holland this summer! We have numerous summer packages that showcase not only our hotel, but the rest of Holland as well!

Andrew Stradtner
Front Office Supervisor
(P) 616-394-0111
andrew.stradtner@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

One of the worst hotel stays I' ve had. We made a reservation directly through the number given on their website and were directed through Hilton's stupid phone reservation system which takes far too long and tries to sell you on more. It was only complicated by the fact that we wanted a crib and they had to call the hotel while we were put on hold for a long time. When we arrived our room was humid and smelled like a pool. We were put in a room with a balcony overlooking the pool on the 4th floor. Kids were up screaming until the pool closed at 11pm. I could not sleep until they left and it was nearly impossible to put my very tired baby to bed. I had to give the baby a bath and the tub didn't seem very clean. Then comes the best part. We booked breakfast when we made our initial reservation, but they didn't give us vouchers when we checked in. Even when we showed the front desk our reservation details (which clearly said bed and breakfast) she said she couldn't do anything about it. Breakfast booked in advance was $5 a person and now they were going to charge us an additional $19 for breakfast on the spot. My husband was furious and told the he was going to call the credit card company and report fraud. This did nothing at the front desk, but our server was more proactive as she said this sort of thing happened all the time. She talked to the manager and they said it was their fault. I could not have been more ready to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a balcony to the pool otherwise your room will smell like the pool and you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catzpawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear CatPawz,

I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. Your experience is by no means a regular occurence. The pool area can sometimes be a little noisy with children until 11 PM, but after is closed to all guests. A room away from the pool area is sometimes more condusive to a good nights sleep. In regards to the issue with breakfast, I would love to investigate further. Please contact me with by information provided so I can help to resolve the issue.

Andrew Stradtner
Front Office Supervisor
(P) 616-394-0111
andrew.stradtner@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our recent 3 day stay at Doubletree was a true Delight! We had come with a group of parents of athletes and they were very gracious in setting up tables for us to have a place to gather and share some food. The hotel is very spacious and there were actually many places for groups to gather, kids to play games without annoying everyone else. The beds were incredibly comfortabe. I think all the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves! The group rate was awesome.
We came for a swim meet, but to our surprise, found that Holland has a beautiful downtown with lots of great shops, galleries and unique restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! Our staff does a wonderful job of accommodating guest's requests. We understand the needs of every guest are different and as such, we try to cater to each individual. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy not only our hotel, but Holland as well. It truly is a hidden gem along Michigan's West Coast. Hopefully the swim meet went well for you and we would love to see you again!

Andrew Stradtner
Front Office Supervisor
(P) 616-394-0111
andrew.stradtner@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfileld, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel in Holland MI this weekend for the MIAA Championships. The were extremely friendly and the service was the best. Great experience for the family.

Room Tip: The rooms were small, but our family of 4 was comfortable. We didn't spend much time in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieGRichfileld_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here on TripAdvisor! Your kind words regarding your stay are very much appreciated. I am so happy to hear that your group enjoyed themselves. We had a wondeful time hosting you and we hope to see you back at the MIAA Championships next year!

Andrew Stradtner
Front Office Supervisor
(P) 616-394-0111
andrew.stradtner@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have been traveling to Holland, MI for the past few months for business so I have been able to stay at more than one of the local hotels. I wish I could give this hotel a higher rating - I really want to but it has a few things that make me rate it just average.

First the positives. Great, friendly staff. Across the board - front desk, bar, restaurant. Nice quiet, clean room. Comfortable room, free wireless, free breakfast.

Negatives. Nice new LG flat-panel LCD TV - TERRIBLE reception. All of channels are fuzzy - NO HD in 2012? Really? Come on - fix this. I thought this might be just my room but several guests I talked to at the bar mentioned the same thing. Location - just OK. It's removed from the downtown Holland area so restaurants, shopping require driving to.

Overall I would still recommend staying here as the staff is great and rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet and good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaynewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We work extremely hard to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests. I am also glad to see you appreciated our new LG flat panel televisions. They were recent additions as of this past summer. We have actually been in the process of upgrading to HD in the near future. What's a giant TV without HD? I appreciate the entirety of your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Andrew Stradtner
Front Office Supervisor
(P) 616 394-0111
andrew.stradtner@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is a very large hotel with a friendly front desk staff, courteous breakfast waitresses, and clean guest rooms. It has an indoor pool and a lounge that features a nice-size bar & a pool table.

This property also has a few shortcomings:

1. Odd layout with guest rooms in far-apart wings.
2. Very small fitness room with an 80-degree thermostat.
3. Small breakfast area with insufficient food - half of the fruit was all consumed by 7:30am.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leadbelly98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Hotel Holland, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent evaluation of our property. I especially appreciate the entirety of your review, as it seems you were able to use many of our hotel's facilities! While some things are out of the control of our staff (size of fitness cetner, hotel layout), we try to provide every guest with a warm and friendly atmosphere (as you experienced with our front desk staff!) I am also glad to see you enjoyed our pool, as our maintenance staff has worked tirelessly over the last few weeks cleaning and refurbishing our pool and hot tub. If you ever find your way back to Holland, we'd love to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Holland
Residence Inn Holland
#6 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Holland

Property: Doubletree Hotel Holland
Address: 650 E 24th St, Holland, MI 49423-4849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Holland)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doubletree Hotel Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Doubletree by Hilton Holland. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland Michigan is a proud member of Hilton Hotels Worldwide. Enjoy all the benefits of the HHONORS® program during your visit to the Holland Area. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland, Michigan is adjacent to Johnson Controls and is within moments of all corporate and manufacturing facilities within the Holland, MI Area. With new, full-service upscale accommodations, the Doubletree by Hilton Holland is located just off U.S. Highway 31 within minutes of beautiful Lake Michigan. Our modern hotel is 35 minutes from Gerald R Ford International Airport (GRR) in Grand Rapids, Michigan and convenient to major manufacturing centers, I-196 and the Holland business district. The Doubletree by Hilton Holland is a warm and inviting hotel where you will be able to enjoy the comforts of:•168 spacious, contemporary guest rooms•High-speed wireless Internet access in all public areas•Indoor, Four-Story Relaxation Center with an Over-Size Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Fitness Center with the latest in cardio and weight training equipment by Precor®•Dine at the intimate West Coast Grille•Relax and unwind at Coasters Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Holland
Holland Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing