We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager was very rude and discourteous”
Review of Days Inn Holland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Holland
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The manager was very rude and discourteous. The rest of the staff was friendly and tried to take care of the errors. The sheets were worn to the point that the fitted sheet would not stay on and we ended up sleeping on a bare mattress.
This stay was very much a damper on our wedding weekend.
Corporate was notified of the man's behavior, and I received one quarter of my bill in return as an appeasement

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marinecitymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Holland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed here after searching for pet friendly hotels in the Holland area. I have found that pet friendly motels tend to be a litte run down, or charge $75-100 to have a pet in the room. (we have a cat). The room at this hotel felt clean, which was my main concern. The sink is separate from the bathroom, which is nice, as well.
There is a decent restaurant right next door (the Goog). The pool is nice, although we didn't use it. The entire motel is nonsmoking.
The bad parts-nothing major, just frustrations: the AC was not on in our room and since it was 94 out, we were hot for quite a while.., We booked for 2 nights but they only gave us a room for one night, so our keys didn't work the next day. The breakfast wasn't wonderful- 2 types of cereal, fresh english muffins, toast, pastries, and the coffee was the worst I've had in years. Staff was friendly although overwhelmed a bit (motel is full).
My biggest issue though was the internet- it would disconnect every minute or so, so I couldn't upload any pictures or do anything that took longer than about 30 seconds.
Overall, I would stay here again if I come to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

It is, as others have reported, remarkably filthy. We had to sit for a long time on the corridor floor (while manager tried to fix our lock) -- very unpleasant. But the greatest concern is that the two doors at one end of the building are completely unsecured. I'm surprised it's legal. There's no way of knowing who is congregating outside (it's like a hangout) or wending down the corridors. Incidentally, I agree that the night manager was friendly and conscientious.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Stayed for one night, got great advice from the friendly night clerk (who had worked there for 15 years!) on places to eat and the next morning we were late getting down for the comp. bkfst and the manager was very accomodating in bringing stuff back out. Altogether a pleasant experience. We stayed at two other Days Inn locations on this trip primarily due to this experience.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank mikechampaign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed here last month and I have to say it was the worst hotel ever. When I first walked in I was greeted with the managers family sitting in the lobby talking loudly and obnoxiously in another language. The lobby smelled like salt and a wet dog. The young girl at the front desk was very friendly and welcoming and made my first impression of the hotel a little bit better. My room was disgusting! The toilet seat was cracked and leaked. Their were hairs on my pillow! To make it even worse, my room smelled like smoke when it was suppose to be a non-smoking room! STAY AWAY from this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watts68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The entire first floor was supposed to be non-smoking. When walking down the hall to the room it was so smoke filled you could almost see it. We put a towel under the door to keep the smoke in the hallway. This helped a little, but because the door did not fit tightly (you could see the light coming through the entire edge of the door, the smoke came in anyway. The windows did not open, so there was no relief there. Although the rooms were clean, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed only one night for the Tulip Time in Holland and this hotel was clean, comfortable and friendly.

The pool was under maintenance so we only saw it all dirty and closed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonfreq_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
99 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Holland

Address: 717 Hastings Ave, US 31 & Holland Bypass, Holland, MI 49423-5427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range: $63 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Holland 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Holland Hotel Holland
Holland Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing