We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a bed for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were just looking for a one night stay in the Muskegon area for a reasonable price. The Country Inn delivered what we expected and slightly more. Everything was clean, quiet and secure. The breakfast area was small but well stocked with cereal, donuts, bagels, fruit and oatmeal. Also juice, coffee and tea. Adequate, but not great. They were finishing up with construction and moving the breakfast area to a larger room soon. The staff was efficient and helpful. One thing they could vastly improve on is getting a sign along the road. We spent 15 minutes trying to find the place. It is hidden behind a mall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 585 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Upon arriving the Inn looked very inviting. surrounded by mowed grass and trees and shrubs. First there was no elevator. Check in was smooth. I had made previous reservations. The staff was very good and helpful. The room was clean. But. The room was very noisy. You could hear noise fardown the hallway, doors slamming and conversations. The people in the next room sounded like they were in our room. Even normal conversations could be heard. The hvac did'ntevenhave a fan only mode to help drown out the sound. The hot water was not to be had. I realize the Inn was full or close to it, but this should have been accounted for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I want to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel and I want to let you know we are working diligently to prevent future experiences like this for all our guests. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is really a good hotel, clean and well maintained, but incredibly difficult to find. It is hidden in a shopping complex and not well signed should you even be close to it. It is worth the effort to find, however. We attempted to get a room at several other hotels, but they were so incredibly proud of their places that they priced them like you might be staying in a 4 or 5 star in downtown Chicago, we kept looking and found the Country Inn. We don't mind paying the price for great room in a great hotel, but we will not pay nearly $200 for a night in a Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn. We will stay at the Country Inn again if we ever return to Holland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VerticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay and that we took care of all your needs and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were fortunate to find an opening at this hotel on Labor Day weekend as everything in Holland was booked. They had a cancelation and we got in. Staff was nice and hotel room was comfortable. My husband thought the mattress was too hard to sleep well, but I didn't notice so much. It was a little expensive, but AARP helped with that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Staying here as I write this. People complain about finding it but it isn't really that hard. The signs are small probably because they are behind a shopping area and aren't allowed to have large signs. Just like every other shopping center you use the silly gps for the address is for the main road so no it isn't right on James St you have to also use your eyes to find it.....just drive back toward the theater and it will be there. The front desk staff has been very helpful, I overheard them tell another customer she got the last room so although our shower spigot was broken she tried to fix it and they called at 9am the next morning to find a time when it could be fixed. When we got back from the beach it was good as new. Their electronic locks need to be updated because the outside doors sometimes have issues. But all in all it was comfortable, the couch in our room was a nice addition and it was very clean. In addition they have done a good job with adding lots of outlets for all the gadgets we bring. There isn't an elevator so just know that going in, their are 2 floors.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kanary77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are excited that you enjoyed your recent stay and happy that you have shared it. We look forward to your next stay here with us and thank you for choosing the Country Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here because many of the chains that we usually stay, were even more expensive. It is a little hard to find, as this Inn is located in the back of a mostly closed outlet mall. It is being renovated and the rooms are nice. The desk clerk was very nice and even looked up our Carlson Club account number. Room was clean and we didn't experience any noise issues. Not that they don't exist, but it wasn't an issue with our stay. Breakfast was decent, a little more elaborate than what other reviewers stated. Inn has a pool, but no jacuzzi. And no elevator. So, if one has problems carrying bags up steps, this Inn is not for you.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for the first floor, if steps are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notme2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Yes we are renovating and the breakfast and lobby part of the renovation will soon be done, and then it will be back to business as usual. We hope that you will come back to visit us in the future and thank you for choosing the Country Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed again in the Comfort Inn on Sherman Blvd in Muskegon, MI and had no complaints. The room was clean and quiet. Didn't have a chance to enjoy the breakfast because I had breakfast plans with friends in Muskegon. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santa4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
887 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Doubletree Hotel Holland
#10 of 18 in Holland
785 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Address: 12260 James St, Holland, MI 49424-8613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing