We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Improving”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here because many of the chains that we usually stay, were even more expensive. It is a little hard to find, as this Inn is located in the back of a mostly closed outlet mall. It is being renovated and the rooms are nice. The desk clerk was very nice and even looked up our Carlson Club account number. Room was clean and we didn't experience any noise issues. Not that they don't exist, but it wasn't an issue with our stay. Breakfast was decent, a little more elaborate than what other reviewers stated. Inn has a pool, but no jacuzzi. And no elevator. So, if one has problems carrying bags up steps, this Inn is not for you.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for the first floor, if steps are a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notme2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us. Yes we are renovating and the breakfast and lobby part of the renovation will soon be done, and then it will be back to business as usual. We hope that you will come back to visit us in the future and thank you for choosing the Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    162
    112
    60
    33
See reviews for
229
140
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed again in the Comfort Inn on Sherman Blvd in Muskegon, MI and had no complaints. The room was clean and quiet. Didn't have a chance to enjoy the breakfast because I had breakfast plans with friends in Muskegon. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santa4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for a weekend stay. Didn't have enough conference rooms to help host our family reunion. The price was affordable. Did not have an elevator so some of our family had to stay on the 1st floor. It was certainly located close to alot of the
attractions.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff and nice hotel. They are remodeling and the new look is good. Great location for us, but the hotel can be difficult to find. Small pool, in case that matters to you. I wish the price were lower (Priceline put it within reach), but we would return here. Family fav.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning the in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way to northern MI. We were on rte31 and looking for a place. I saw a sign for country inn and turned at the next street. The place is not on the street. You have to go through a half empty mall or go drive on the backside of the mall next to an abandoned strip mall. Normally I never would have stayed in this kind of an area.

They staff was polite, courteous, and cheerful. The room was clean. However the sound insulation between rooms was poor.

Tiny area for breakfast and the only items hot were coffee and toast. Only apples and oranges for fruit. I expected at least bananas or mixed fruit for the price I paid.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beavscabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are pleased that you found the hotel clean and enjoyed the staff. We are currently under renovation for our breakfast area to add a full kitchen to offer a hot breakfast, unfortunately we have to serve breakfast out of the lobby area which is smaller than normal. We hope that when the renovation of breakfast is completed you will stop back by to see what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our group booked a block of rooms for a trip in July. The contract was signed and faxed, and our leader called 3 separate times to follow up. She was told we were all set. Upon arrival of the first members of our group, we were told we did not have rooms, and the hotel was booked full. The staff made various excuses, and kept passing the situation off to others. The manager was "busy" or running errands. Half of our group ended up scrambling to find other accomodations elsewhere. There were multiple events going on that weekend, so it was difficult and stressful. The remainder of our group was given rooms for the first night, with no guarantee we could stay the next nights. The room itself was as expected, comfortable bed and clean. Door keys frequently didn't work and had to be exchanged. The hotel is close to hwy 31, but not close to the downtown and lake area. It is located across from a vacant strip mall, so not very asthetically appealling.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lobby and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizMac323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations and assure you that we are working to fix this issue for future groups. I do hope that you will give us a second chance in the future to show you what we really have to offer as a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Holland hotels

Challis, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed two night, check in was very easy and the staff was great. Room was very clean, beds are the best. Pool could be cleaner lots of sand on th bottom. My room key would not work so I returned to the front desk and they recoded it, still would not work so we just used my wifes key. They did tell use up front that breakfest room was being updated and closed with breakfast in the lobby. First morning we tried to have breakfast but there was way to many people in the room so we did not even try the 2nd morning. Location is hard to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We know that it is alittle crowded in the mornings for breakfast but we know that when we are done with the breakfast renovations that you will love what we have done. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
2.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Address: 12260 James St, Holland, MI 49424-8613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing