We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Holland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Holland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My family recently stayed at this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Every staff member that we encountered was so friendly and always asked us if we were enjoying our stay. They made us feel at home and being an avid traveler, that is a very rare thing to find. Not only was the service top notch, but the hotel was bright and cheery and sparkling clean. In addition, we loved the swimming pool and the breakfast was delicious. I am already looking forward to our next stay and will highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddfranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are delighted that you had such a great stay. We strive to ensure all our guests feel at home and enjoy their stays with us. We look forward to your next visit here at the Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    139
    104
    55
    27
See reviews for
194
127
18
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for several days a couple of years ago and the renovations that have taken are place are just what was needed! We stayed in a king suite on the main floor and all the amenities were top notch and brand new - furniture and tv, right down to the bathroom counter and shower curtain! Renovations are still in progress with little additions being added to the rooms as we speak. Looking forward to the new and improved dining area and a hot breakfast - right now it's just the basic toast and cereal and yogurt type breakfast. But there's always hot coffee and freshly baked cookies in the charming foyer. Close to the mall and some cute shops that are relocating in the adjacent outlet mall; next door to the movie theatre and across the street from the Wal-Mart and plenty of restaurants. Great hotel and a great value!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caligranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are thrilled that you love all the new changed we have made and we are excited about all the changes that are still coming. We hope that you will come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel has recently done a lot of updating..the rooms, the weight room, etc. They have been done very well. In the entrance there is a comfy/homey sitting area and the free cookies were an extra plus!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are delighted that you enjoyed all of our new upgrades and are happy you feel at home when you walk into the lobby. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Country Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here one night to go to the beach after being at a conference in Grand Rapids. They put me in a room at the very far end of the hotel and the room seemed okay except the tv looked really bad. They moved me to the room directly across the hall and that tv was better but still not very clear and the next day the color had gone out altogether on it. The room was clean and has microwave and refrigerator which is nice. The problem is that those rooms are right next to the outside door as well as the stairs so I was woken up really early the next morning with people clomping down the stairs. Those rooms should not be used unless the hotel is full which it didn't seem to be. The bed was comfortable and the hotel is in a good location. The breakfast was disappointing as the only protein offerings were cheese sticks and peanut butter. I would not rule this hotel out but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: make sure you don't have the end rooms by the stairs and outside door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwax67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn Holland. We understand your concerns and I assure you we are working on the TV and door issue. I also wanted to let you know that we are still in the process of our renovations and when the renovations are completed we will be offering a full hot breakfast. I hope that you will give us a second chance to show you what we really have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is the first time I brought the secret Hotel from hotwire with a good price. The directions I received never mentioned that the hotel was in the back of a plaza. The GPS guilde us there. It is a little confused. Add more confusing into that: the parking lot had not a single car in there; The yellow line tied up the front door area like crime site. The hotel was dark. Then we parked in front of the hotel and made a phone call. The phone rang yet none answer after many rings. I thought that the hotel was abandon and I got rid off from hotwire.
Then the receptionist answer the phone; The hotel was under renovation. They still working on the front area with last step....

This hotel had a nice location, next to route 31; Everything is just minutes away. The Dutch village nearby, several restaurants nearby. The Walmart couple blocks away. ,

Room Tip: The room in the back noisier since near road. No elevator in the 2 stores hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inn. I want to apologize for all the issues you had during your recent stay and I want to let you know that we are currently under renovation for all of our guests. I hope that you will give us a second try in the future to show you what we really have to offer here at the Country Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our association held an event at the Dutch Village close by and this was our main hotel. We had about 20 rooms and I only heard of one problem that was handled immediately by the staff. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. We were one of two large groups they accomodated that weekend and all went well.

Room Tip: No elevator, ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are happy that your group chose to stay with us during your recent event. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel I was wondering if I would even want to stay here when Priceline booked this room but in the Spring time in Holland you could not beat the price.

Hidden hotel that carries the look of the Holland area. Clean comfortable rooms with mini fridge and microwave. I had a king size bed that was very comfortable. The room was large enough and clean. The property is located close to alot of restaurants as well as a sports restaurant/bar within walking distance. I did not use the fitness facility or pool but saw that they were both usable.

The breakfast was the usual Country Inn spread and for the amount of people that were there they kept up with restocking food and beverages.

Overall the place was decent enough for me to come back and stay here again if need be. The reviews that you read are probably dependant on the room you get and the mood you are in. I traveled with a co-worker and his room was fine as well. Good price for a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Country Inn By Carlson, Holland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Country Inn. We are please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait for you to return. We are almost done with our current renovations and we know that when you come back to see us to will love our finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn By Carlson, Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn By Carlson, Holland

Property: Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Address: 12260 James St, Holland, MI 49424-8613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn By Carlson, Holland 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% non smoking facility.Experience the Comfort of the Country Inn by Carlson Holland, MI. Whether your trip is packed with business or filled with fun, our hotel in Holland, Michigan is a comfortable place to relax at the end of the day. The Country Inn by Carlson Holland offers a versatile array of personal comforts and professional conveniences to help ensure a stress-free vacation, such as free high-speed Internet access, an indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. In addition, this premier hotel's location is near the sparkling waters of Lake Michigan and other attractions such as Neli's Dutch Village, Windmill Island and Veldheer's Tulip Garden. There is something for everyone staying at this hotel in Holland, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Country Inn By Carlson, Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland Hotel Holland
Country Inn Holland
Holland Country Inn
Country Hotel By Carlson Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing