We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe

Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 229 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went here several times to make sure to try various things, however, I left last time deciding it was indeed my last time. The food is expensive and tasteless. No matter how many times I've been, I have not enjoyed the meal. They also don't really have any vegetarian options for those trying to stay away from the meat-heavy dishes. The bakery is good though and had some decent treats.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yuliya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    121
    43
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food & drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lunch at the Alpen Rose was a pleasant experience. We both ordered the fish & chips and it was very nice. Light crunchy batter and great tartar sauce. The coleslaw was delicious. I highly recommend the strawberry mojito. Good service and decent prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Breakfast Buffet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I visited Alpenrose for their Sunday breakfast buffet and I was very impressed. The selection was complete with egg dishes, pasta dishes, ham, and even a huge bowl of cold shrimp. They had even more than one thing for everyone and everyone left happy and satisfied. Our server was also very helpful and friendly, and recommended what turned out to be my favorite, a cold stuffed multicolor pasta salad. I would definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location to dine and people watch in downtown Holland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A colleague and I stumbled across a street fair while seeking out a place for dinner last week while in Holland on a business trip. We decided Alpenrose would be a nice place to dine since there was outdoor seating right in the middle of the action. I'm so glad we did. The service was friendly, the food and cocktails were very good (I recommend the spiked pink lemonade on a nice summer evening) and the location is great. Ill definitely be back when I'm traveling in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grilled Romaine was a hit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a delicious meal in a pleasant atmosphere, our server was polite, attentive and helpful. We sat on the outside patio on a warm summer evening in Holland were very comfortable, location of this restaurant is great for visiting downtown Holland. My wife had the excellent grilled romaine salad, I had a summer salad with fresh fruit - very good. The parmesan crusted chicken had wonderful flavor and my wife enjoyed the french onion soup. We also enjoyed a chocolate eclair at the bakery and this finished the meal off nicely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20yearsofbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing