We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to dine and people watch in downtown Holland”

Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 232 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location to dine and people watch in downtown Holland”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A colleague and I stumbled across a street fair while seeking out a place for dinner last week while in Holland on a business trip. We decided Alpenrose would be a nice place to dine since there was outdoor seating right in the middle of the action. I'm so glad we did. The service was friendly, the food and cocktails were very good (I recommend the spiked pink lemonade on a nice summer evening) and the location is great. Ill definitely be back when I'm traveling in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    125
    43
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grilled Romaine was a hit!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a delicious meal in a pleasant atmosphere, our server was polite, attentive and helpful. We sat on the outside patio on a warm summer evening in Holland were very comfortable, location of this restaurant is great for visiting downtown Holland. My wife had the excellent grilled romaine salad, I had a summer salad with fresh fruit - very good. The parmesan crusted chicken had wonderful flavor and my wife enjoyed the french onion soup. We also enjoyed a chocolate eclair at the bakery and this finished the meal off nicely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20yearsofbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
1 review
“Gluten Free Choices and Allergy Friendly”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have difficulty in finding restaurants as our family has a long list of food allergies, some severe, including gluten and tree nuts. I called to see what the Sunday buffet options were. The hostess spoke with the chef and he said he would modify the fish dish so we could eat that as well as several others that were GF on the buffet. There were also gluten free desserts.
We were delighted! The food was delicious, the waiter was terrific, and the building itself is simply beautiful. Their outdoor seating areas are lovely as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillellenchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

For many years, Alpenrose in beautiful downtown Holland was our favorite special-occasion restaurant. Alpenrose has become our favorite West Michigan restaurant! The food is fantastic and the service excellent. Sue, the hostess, and several servers greet us by name and always accomodate special requests.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UsaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Save your $”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The server was very kind and the atmosphere was OK...but, wow...my salad was a joke. I ordered a cobb salad...hard to screw that up right? Well, think again. It was literally iceberg lettuce and big slices of sandwich sized tomatoes with a few small sprinkles of blue cheese and bacon...For the price, not worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Alpenrose Restaurant and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing