We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Inventive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Theodores - CLOSED

Theodores
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: After a complete renovation of the space previously occupied by Till Midnight, Theodore’s was opened June 4, 2010 inside the beautifully renovated Baker Lofts, located in picturesque West Michigan and just a few blocks away from downtown Holland. The space was designed by a local designer and is accented by local art. Our notable tables were created from repurposed hard wood doors from the original Baker Lofts and all of our kitchen equipment is refurbished and given a second life in our open kitchen. Our wine cellar is a combination of hand collected and specially chosen labels and housed in our glass fronted walk-in wine cellar. We are a family owned restaurant whose mission is to deliver the finest quality of food, wine, and service to the community and surrounding areas. Our desire is to create an intimate atmosphere that friends and family can gather in a comfortable social setting. Our staff is educated in all aspects of the restaurant with attention to service being of the utmost importance. We believe in growing together and welcome any comments or suggestions.So, welcome to Theodore’s, may your stay with us be pleasant, rewarding, and initiate many returns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and Inventive”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Have eaten here twice now, and this is a wonderful place to dine. Maybe too urbane for little Holland, but give it a try. Great shared plates, great chef, great wine cellar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeMIGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely quiet place for a secluded dinner”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is in an old furniture factory, with wooden floors and a lovely old ambience. The restaurant is quiet and secluded. I had the fish tacos, which were wonderful, if just a little spicy. Our friends had the New York strip and loved it. Great service and great atmosphere for an intimate dinner. The desserts are yummy, but selections are limited, which usually means they make them themselves. Will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Siouxellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I think this is my new favorite!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Located in the Baker Lofts Building on 24th Street, the restaurant has an imaginative menu, with a vegetarian and a gluten-free selection among the choices. Prices are moderate to somewhat higher, but a very good value. I had chicken with quinoa risotto and apricot sauce and superbly cooked fresh vegetables. My husband had a "small plate"--fish tacos, also tasty. Attractive dining room, comfortable chairs. We'll definitely return. Open Tuesday through Saturday for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sanchogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Average food that is overpriced. We were the only table there and was too quiet to enjoy ourselves. Don't bother with this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ngonghills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smashleyday, Event Mangement Intern at Theodores, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your experience at Theodore's! We'd like to invite you to come back! I think coming in on a Thursday night would be a great idea for you. We have live music from local musicians and we have happy hour specials from 5-7, including half priced appetizers and great deals on domestic and craft beers as well as half priced martinis! I hope this helps and we'd like to see you again. Chef Oscar invites you to sit at the Kitchen Bar with him so he can give you a more personalized experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theodores also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing