We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kids enjoyed this!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nelis' Dutch Village

Nelis' Dutch Village
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A visit to Nelis' Dutch Village is like a step back into the Netherlands of over 100 years ago on a day when a festival came to town. Demonstrations and performances; tastes, sight and sounds; and something to interest all ages. Unique shopping too.
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kids enjoyed this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was a fun place to go for something out of the ordinary. The little kids especially loved the different activities that were geared for their young age. There were a few things of interest for us older folk too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaPeVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    194
    66
    37
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute little amusement park that is great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at Neils' Dutch Village with my 3 1/2 year old twins. It is great for little ones as it is not too big and they have a lot of activities that they can do. Their is a cute little petting zoo, swing ride, carousel, wooden shoe slide, duck race, peddle push train. The kids loved it as it was too overwhelming. It has beautiful gardens and dutch themes. My daughter loved the doll room! Great to spend a few hours!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riceinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Good place to go with kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fake Dutch village surrounded by strip malls. Cheesy, with good entertainment for kids. Enough for three hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chantoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Revisiting childhood memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hubby and I stopped in Holland for a night and day, after a weekend at my aunt's lake house in Vicksburg, so I could share some childhood nastalgia with him. When I was little we used to go up to my aunt's every summer and would also visit Holland Beach and the Dutch Village. I had fond memories of the village and still have the wooden shoes I got when I was 6, so I wanted to go back and show him.

We enjoyed our visit and it was fun to see how much smaller the buildings seemed and recreate photo ops. There is fun for all ages. A carousel, swing ride, petting zoo with goats you can take for a walk, and a big wooden shoe slide for the kids. Adults can enjoy some Dutch history and fun shopping opportunities from beautiful hand-carved candles, wooden shoes, homemade cheese and hand-painted china as well as other unique gift options and fun souveniers. There are also shoe carving demonstrations and Dutch group dances to watch or join in on! The staff are friendly and dressed in traditional Dutch costumes too.

If you are in the area it is definitely a fun stop, especially if you have kids or are a kid at heart.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WtrflGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Day Out for Children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was a nice outing for the whole family, but especially if you have little ones.

Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere.

They do a nice job - well worth visiting.

(Minor issue -it sits close to a major highway within site of major box store developments which take away from the aesthetics of the place - the box stores are more recent additions to the neighbourhood.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelis' Dutch Village also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Nelis' Dutch Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing