We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be $19 per night not $70”
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Economy Inn
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Save yourself the embarrassment. Don't be seen here. Dirty overall and employees live on site and hang on the balconies. Broken towel bars, mildew & mold in bathroom, phones have limited service, the breakfast area is dirty and the garbage can in this area hasn't been cleaned since it was purchased.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel than this one. I can't believe that they are allowed to continue operation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hey, if crazy staff, beer cap littered sidewalks and half way house type guests are your thing this place is PERFECT for you! Not only are there NO locks on the doors you"ll be sure to leave with a communicable disease from the floors,bedding,toilets. And all you low self esteemers are gonna feel great about yourself after being sexually harassed by the "guests" hanging from the balconies. And just for added fun bring your kids! they're sure to be safe. I know i felt great about staying there with my 13 yr old daughter! Seriously the only thing I felt great about was pulling out of the drive!! This place is SCARY AS HELL! Don't walk, RUN!!!!!

Room Tip: sleep in your car. Its safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at this property one night only because the town had no other nights available. It was dirty, noisy, smelly. Their all sorts of undesirables hanging over railings and shouting out to one another, Try to contact this property or the parent company Choice HOtels proved fruitless. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

this place is degusting !!! its full of bugs and the half the people staying there live there!!!!!!!!!!!!! and the staff is crazy !! not worth it keep going on down the highway folks to better hotels down the highway !! this place is not even worth comming up the drive way. how can he still be open with it being so disgusting !! wheres the health dept in all this or dont they care either.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poopooSaugatuckMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We choose this hotel because it was one of the cheaper places to stay in Holland that allowed dogs. The woman who checked us in seemed a little disheveled and appeared to be living there with a child and dog. I was a little surprised when they charged us at checked in (no pet deposit or anything) and not after we checked out the next day. Our room had two double beds and other than a dirty towel left on the bathroom door it seemed to be clean. However the room did smell like cigarette smoke. The location of the hotel is convenient to Holland and Saugatuck attractions. The restaurant in the attached parking lot, The Wooden Shoe, has great breakfast. At first, I was a little concerned about our staying there, but no one bothered us and for an overnight stay it was not too bad. However if I was staying more than a few days I would probably want to stay somewhere a little more nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiMerryTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

dirt walls, sticky floors, stained furniture, and cigarette burns in bedding. My husband turned the light on in the bathroom and the light fixture fell from the ceiling, he could barley close the bathroom door because the toilet was too big and the door got stuck on it. When he got the door shut there was pee all over the walls. The next morning my kids wanted the "continental" breakfast, and all that was there was stale cereal, and make your own waffles. When my oldest finished making her waffle there was a bug cooked in it, so she didn't eat it, and my youngest wanted cereal and it was stale. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone at all!!!! And most hotels have bibles and alarm clocks in the rooms and there was neither in ours, i'm glad my cell phone has an alram on it. It seemed like most of the people there are actually long term residents, they had taken chairs from the rooms and made a smoking/drinking area by the fence, and there were mulitple shopping carts in the parking lot with young kids playing on them, we had to continue to look out the window to make sure our van was safe.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellybeth0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

me and my fiance stayed the weekend there. We called to find out the price. they told us $88.00 for two nights. When we got there they charged us $110.00. The fridge didn't even get cold. the microwave stank. the bed sheets had stains. the furniture was stained and smelled horrible. the carpet was sticky and nasty. the air/heat thing was covered in dust and dripped water. the towels were the size of like a wash cloth. When we asked for more towels it took them two and a half hours and they only brought one. The ice bucket had dirt inside of it and the counter was disgustingly dirty. the toilet didnt flush. the shower didnt even have a shower head! it looked like a water hose coming out of the wall. the tub had soap scum in it. it was so not worth $110.00.. i asked for a refund before we even stayed for the first night and the lady would not give us a refund. i was pissed. worst place ever!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livelaughl0ve23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#15 of 18 in Holland
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Doubletree Hotel Holland
#10 of 18 in Holland
785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Address: 409 US Highway 31, Holland, MI 49423-4236 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Price Range: $58 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Holland Hotel Holland
Holland Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing