We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable, delicious!”
Review of Cottonwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottonwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Holland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a wonderful b & b at a price that can not be beat! The bed was super comfortable, breakfast was spectacular, and Liz is the sweetest host you could ever hope for!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Cottonwood Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 135 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

We just returned from the Cottonwood Inn this very afternoon and I'm already looking forward to returning later this summer when I have another wedding in Holland, MI. My only regrets are not having time for breakfast this morning and that I wasn't able to spend more time at the inn. Honestly it's about as close to a perfect B&B as we have found.

The house is very cozy and rustic but with lots of nice, comfortable spaces to relax. The 3 season porch was fabulous even on a warmer summer day. We stayed in the John Calvin, which was very large and spotless every single day. The two breakfasts we did get to enjoy were to die for as were the cookies left out for us. There are also cold beverages and bags of chips available free of charge throughout the day. Liz is very friendly and welcoming and when I was having issues with the wifi, her son gladly came out to help me out. The only negative thing was the lighting by both mirrors (bathroom and dresser in the bedroom) was very dark, so I ended up standing by the window doing most of my makeup. But it's fine for everything else.

A couple notes that I haven't seen mentioned on here yet - there are no tvs in the inn, though we did not miss them. There are a few games, a public computer, and a large selection of Christian books to look at, if you need something to do and didn't bring your own laptop or books. In the John Calvin room the bedroom and bathroom are only separated by a wall, so if you have privacy issues I would pick another room. It didn't bother us but I can see how it might bother others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabinebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

When going to a B & B I think we all look for different things, but we mostly hope to find the feel of warmth, comfort and overall peacefulness. All of the qualities happen when you arrive. The Innkeeper Liz, greets you with a smile and you get the feeling she wants your stay to be memorable and she goes the extra mile to help you plan your stay. The breakfast was very good and I enjoyed the baked cookies with some hot tea in the afternoon. There are a wide range of great things to do and being so close to everything was a "big" plus. This stay was worth every minute and makes the advertising that we always see come true.... so make sure you "Come to Michigan" and Liz will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had the most wonderful time. Liz is the most gracious host. IShe made us feel like we were home. Her wonderful meals and the warmth of the home were just amazing. They are like family. Take a trip and relax and enjoy the company and the town. Cannot wait to return to a new home away from home. I highly recommend cannot say enough wonderful things about the Inn and the family. Thank you sooo much.

Room Tip: Rooms are all beautiful. Warm and charming.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cottonwood Inn, and our only regret was not booking for the entire weekend. This place was amazing. Liz, our host is the kindest person we have ever met. The home is gorgeous, with a rustic & cozy feel. The room (John Calvin) was immaculate. I even took a nap, which I NEVER do. The atmosphere is SO relaxing. There is a peace in this home that can't be explained in words. We had dinner at The Piper (waterfront), which is a short drive away with great food, and service. If you are looking for a truly wonderful experience, you can't go wrong with the Cottonwood Inn. Perfection :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a special treat our stay was! The home which is not that old is very unique with its rustic wooden beams and trim, a beautiful fire place, and cozy wood stoves, nestled in a beautiful area just out of Downtown Holland. Don and Liz have given it an atmosphere all its own; inviting, spacious, calming and richly seasoned with Christian kindness. The bed was so comfortable (the linens luxurious indeed), and the food superb. No one will regret choosing this B&B for there special getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a wonderfull stay there. Sorry we could not stay longer. Made some new friends with Liz and Don Deater. Christian home. Would recommend it to every one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
878 reviews
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
6.2 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Holland
4.7 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottonwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwood Inn

Address: 4690 Cottonwood Dr, Holland, MI 49423-8926
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Holland
Price Range: $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic Christian Bed and Breakfast just minutes from downtown Holland, Saugatuck, beaches, lighthouse, parks and many other attractions. Sit back and relax with a cup of premium fresh ground coffee or tea in one of the many common areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing