We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice H.I. Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The HIX in Holland is nicer than most. There was a nice large (indoor) pool and a game room that the kids enjoyed. The rooms and breakfast were standard fare but at least they met the consistent HIX standards.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve_in_indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family is very picky. We stayed there July 26-29, 2014. The staff there are very nice and professional. Answered all my questions about the area and where to go. The entire hotel was clean--xx clean-spotless. There were a lot of families staying there but all areas remained very clean throughout the day and night. We had a standard room--it was spacious--including the bathroom. Modern facilities. The beds and pillows were very comfortable--had excellent sleep. Our room was next to the back public door--but nothing was heard--very quiet. The cleaning staff cleaned our room --spotless. Nice pool and spa area-game room for kids. We did not feel rush at all to leave our rooms in the morning. Breakfast was very good,

All the other people at the hotel compliemented it as well. Would I go back--YES,MOST DEFINITIVELY.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were mostly comfortable here. They have coffee and hot cocoa 24/7 and the coffee was decent - not great - but decent. The rooms are spacious as far as hotel rooms. Air conditioning worked just fine. The room was pretty quiet; we hardly knew there was a raging thunderstorm one night (we could see the lightning and see the pouring rain.) Beds were pretty comfortable and amenities were nice. Our son enjoyed the pool and indoor/outdoor hot tub. They have a place to sit outside and eat, bbq, basketball court and a patio for the outdoor portion of the hot tub. It made it very convenient to keep an eye our our son as he played in the hot tub.

I do have a few things to mention. 1) the hallways were set at 75 degrees, which was way too warm in summer. 2) the pool room was almost unbearably hot/humid. There is one door that opens in there with a screen and I put a table right next to it for some relief. Also, way too dark in the evening. 3) when 10:30 hits, watch out for the adults only nazi to come around and rudely kick you and your family out of the area (two nights). It could and should be handled so much better than that. 4) the egg omelette things on the breakfast are just plain nasty - skip them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SomethingCleverHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed three nights, and we were happy with everything. They have a big sign in the lobby, saying if service was anything but excellent to please tell them. And clearly, they mean it.

The fridge in our room was broken, we tried to reset it but after an hour it was clear that it was broken. I called, and they had a staff member there with a brand new fridge. He apologized that it took so long (it was less than 20 minutes) and had the old one out and a functional one in in less than 10 minutes.

I went down a few minutes later to get quarters for the laundry, the person on staff remembered me and asked if the fridge issue was resolved. She too apologized that it took so long. They take promptness to a whole new level at this hotel. I got change for the machines, then went to see the laundry. The room was spotless, they don't charge you an arm and a leg for a load of laundry ($1.75) and the machines are fast.

While all of this was going on, my kids were at the pool with daddy. It's a lovely pool, and it's checked regularly. No dirty towel build up in the discard bin, plenty of fresh towels. The spa is interesting - part of it in inside, part of it is outside. Also, kids are allowed in the spa. This is a very family oriented hotel. It's not overwhelmed with screaming, unsupervised kids (the room price discourages that) but it's also not the place to go if you loathe children. Up the stairs is a game room....it's got the classics (air hockey, skee ball) and is also....spotless. We used the pool daily, but not the game room. 1 block down is an establishment called Crazy Bounce. Yep - it's a huge warehouse full of bouncy slides and castles. 8 bucks for 1 hour, if your kids want to stay for a second hour, just fork over 3 more dollars. Bring socks to Crazy Bounce, or buy them there for 2 dollars a pair. So if you have kids that need to blow off energy - it's literally right within walking distance. Adults don't have to pay unless they are playing too. And yes, they have Wi-Fi. :)

Holiday Inn also has EXCELLENT and fast Wi-Fi. They also have an excellent breakfast deal. It's not just cereal and toast and juice either. It's a full spread. Pancakes, biscuits, breakfast meats, scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, chobani yogurt, pastries, bagels, and hot cinnamon rolls. It's open until 10:30am. It's packed by 10am, so show up before then, and eat heartily. You may not even need lunch.

Mattress quality is excellent, and the rooms are cleaned and stocked well. We needed extra towels a couple of times. Once, the chambermaid was there, and very friendly and professional, the other time, the front desk was able to get us towels immediately.

It's a well run establishment. Very clean, and service is clearly something they make a priority. Everyone on staff is friendly and professional. I would recommend this hotel, and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. It's quiet, and it's only one floor away from the pool and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

What a pleasant stay for our First Annual Sister Weekend. The front desk clerks were more than helpful on numerous occasions. The hotel was booked solid both nights (7/18-20) but there was little noise in the hallways and couldn't hear any of our neighboring rooms. This is always a big deal to me so I was so pleased!!! The hot tub/pool area was very nice (but we ran out of time to use it). Parking and check in a breeze. Breakfast was pretty standard fare but had a few extra touches that were nice, such as an automatic pancake maker and Chobani greek yogurt. Also, those famous cinnamon rolls along with eggs,sausage and gravy etc. The only problem we had was on the morning of check out, the boiler went out and we had no hot water for showers. They offered us late check out because it was being fixed, but we didn't have time to wait. There is a reason this is rated #1!! It's the best in town. It's just too bad it was so expensive this time of year. Overall, would stay again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: request a high floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crazykfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

My family had a horrible experience at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Holland MI. Terrible customer service. Very rude, unprofessional, incompetent staff. There was a mechanical problem with the air conditioning in our room and it took 3 calls to get the mechanical staff to fix it. They blamed us for the problem saying we must have messed with the controls somehow! They wouldn't give us a discount due to the inconvenience. The manager was immature & unprofessional and would not take responsibility for her incompetent front desk and mechanical staff. Instead put the fault on the customer. It was unbelievable. Never experienced anything like this before. Terrible experience. Absolutely the worst hotel I have stayed at.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank L c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

L c,
First off, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Holland last year, and for providing us with feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I would like to let you know since that problem has occurred we have had a change in our management team at the property and this should no longer be an issue in the future. Our team prides themselves on providing the best quality of service to every guest and this time we have fallen short. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the second year in a row I've come to Holland, MI and stayed at this property. It is really a modern, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are spacious and the decor modern and clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DC-ChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

DC-ChiTown,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again for a second year in a row and for supporting our brand. We pride ourselves on providing every guest with the best experience and having clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms helps ensure the guest enjoys their stay. I am glad you found our staff friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. Our team looks forward to having you stay with us again next year. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Holland, MI
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Holland

Address: 12381 Felch St, Holland, MI 49424-9672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Holland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#6 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range: $123 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Holland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Quality Excellence Award winning Holiday Inn Express of Holland, MI. The Holiday Inn Express in Holland offers a place to work, relax or play just minutes from downtown Holland, Windmill Island and Tulip Time Festival activities. Located minutes from Lake Michigan beaches, Holland State Park, the Big Red Lighthouse, Dutch Village, Veldheer Tulip Farm, and Hope College our hotel and outstanding staff are committed to quality and exceptional service. Our spacious rooms offer either a king or two queen beds with luxurious white bedding, executive level and king whirlpool rooms available. All rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, free wired/wireless Internet, 2 line cordless phone, Simply Smart shower experience, and much more! All rooms include free hot breakfast.Take a swim in our Michigan shaped indoor heated pool, enjoy a relaxing evening in our sauna or in our indoor/outdoor spa, a game of pool in our game room or basketball on the outdoor sports court. Enjoy time outside on our outdoor patio reading a book, soaking in the sun or grilling on our complimentary gas grill. Holland, Michigan is home to many fortune 5 companies such as Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Gentex, Haworth, Consumers Power, Siemens, and S2/Tiara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Holland Hotel Holland
Holiday Inn Holland
Holland Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing