We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is #1 in Holland? Seriously??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Holland
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“This is #1 in Holland? Seriously??”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We were surprised that the Holiday Inn Express was rated above City Flats and the Hampton, so we thought we'd try it while in town to deal with family business. We were a little stunned at the prices - $170 for a king on a Saturday night (price dropped to $140 on Sunday). We were told we were on the Executive Floor. Our room was dark, the small window overlooking a brick wall which turned out to be the top of the roof over the pool. We couldn't see anything except the wall, which blocked natural light. The old analog television was a shock. Most hotels charging this much have flat screens and more up to date decor. The air conditioner is loud and never adequately cooled the room. We never tried the pool as it was over run with screaming kids. We attempted to sit on the patio to read but people hanging out at the entrance smoking chased us away. We won't come back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
The staff here at the Holiday Inn Express try and provide you with the best experience possible while you stay with us. Our hotel has won many of the top quality awards that the franchise has to offer. The prices in Holland tend to be higher every where you go on the weekends as a result of high tourist traffic which in result makes parts of our hotel more crowded such as the pool area. We apologize that the view from your room was not satisfactory during your stay. If you would have called the front desk staff and been asked to move they would have done everything in their power to accommodate you. Our hotel is going under a $2 Million dollar renovation starting in Mid-September of 2011 including a fresh new look throughout the entire hotel including flat screen televisions in the rooms. If you have any other questions or comments please e-mail bflavin@suburbaninns.com. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    93
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
158
91
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel had several nice things about it. The first is the night staff were very nice. They were helpful in trying to help us find different attractions. The location is great to get around everything. The beaches are a little way away, but you have the pool to go to if it rains that day at the beach. The have a good breakfest in the mornig that has pancakes and sausage. It it a good way to start your day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ironwolf704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. Our front desk staff loves helping people to find attractions and things to do while they are in Holland and we are happy that you enjoyed the pancakes and sausage at breakfast during your stay. We enjoyed having you during your previous visit to Holland and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Very nice lobby area. We were here for several days and spent some time in the public area, where we saw a man cleaning up after the breakfast. He would pull a tray out, bang it against his pants to get the crumbs off, and put it back in for the next day's use (just saying, in case you get lint on your English muffin).

We also used the pool. While the pool itself is fine, there are video games on the balcony above and the "enticing noises" they make - sirens etc. - do get old pretty fast.

Issues we had with the room included a necessary call to tech support to get the wireless internet to function properly and the thin walls of a modern hotel. A normal cough next door almost sounds like it is in your room. Two of the days, the water pressure was lower in the morning, which also made the toilet flush very poorly.

Finally, the prices all over Holland seem very high for what you get - room-wise and city-wise. I am not sure why. This is a decent budget hotel, but nowhere near what you might expect for the summertime rates.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomasnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
We would like to thank you for the review that you wrote us. It is because of guests like you that give us feed back that we are continually able to improve our facility. The review you wrote provided us with great feedback that will help us to make our guest experience the best it can be. If you have any further comments or questions you can e-mail them to bflavin@suburbaninns.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

when in Holland, we love to stay at CityFlats. I was disappointed that they were booked up and we had to find a backup. It ended up being a great overnight stay. We got a jacuzzi suite for a good price. the pool area and game room are pretty great. we enjoyed the "adult swim" hours. the hot tub has an indoor/outdoor thing which was great. the only down for us was when another jacuzzi suite either above our below us filled up (it was midnight), it was REALLY loud in our room. it sounded like our faucet was on full blast. besides that, great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

we stayed at this hotel with our daughter's softball team and everyone enjoyed themselves. the staff was excellent - very accommodating and courteous - and the rooms were very clean... as was the rest of the hotel. the pool was great as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian_JMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bflavin, Communications Director at Holiday Inn Express Holland, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
We as a staff would like to thank you for your review of our property. We are glad that you had a great experience and look forward to hosting your team again in the future. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This was the best Express I've ever seen. Very attractive. Indoor poor. Indoor/outdoor spa. Lots of seating for breakfast. Friendly staff. The room was VERY clean- I'm very picky on this point, and it was great.

3 minutes from Hope College. 5 minutes from Holland center.

The negative: This was the hardest bed I've ever slept on. (that's why it didn't get a 5)When I sat on the edge of the bed I could feel the edge of the wire frame digging into my legs. We woke up every 60-90 minutes because my shoulders hurt. My wife and I both had backaches when we left the next day. I have never complained about a bed before, but I asked about it shortly after checking in. The gal at the desk said she had never heard that in 9 years. Said she usually hears it's too soft. I also mentioned it when I checked out. Also the pillows were very cheap and lumpy- all of them. We stayed here because our child was looking at Hope College. Because of the bed, I would probably stay at the Hamton Inn next door if I came back. If you like a very hard bed, then this is the place for you!!

2 minors: Standard 4:3 tube-type television, and need nightlights available in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Familyman454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is a very clean hotel, large rooms, large lobby to relax in if you want, and quiet. The building itself is beautiful with a Dutch theme design (to go with the city). The staff was very friendly; worked hard to fix a phone problem I was having in the room, which they got repaired. Hot breakfast with large selection and good taste. Had a room w? 2 queen beds, a desk, dresser, TV, leisure chair & floor lamp, and plenty of room. Bathroom was average size but w/ large vanity. Very nice pool area w/ video games - would be a nice place for a family, too. Several chain restaurants and a shopping mall nearby, but make sure you go downtown (5-10 minutes away) to enjoy many other good restaurants and little shops - and a couple of candy stores!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsgo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn By Carlson, Holland
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Holland
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Holland Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Doubletree Hotel Holland
#10 of 18 in Holland
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Holland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Holland
Address: 12381 Felch St, Holland, MI 49424-9672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Holland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#6 Business Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Holland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Quality Excellence Award winning Holiday Inn Express of Holland, MI. The Holiday Inn Express in Holland offers a place to work, relax or play just minutes from downtown Holland, Windmill Island and Tulip Time Festival activities. Located minutes from Lake Michigan beaches, Holland State Park, the Big Red Lighthouse, Dutch Village, Veldheer Tulip Farm, and Hope College our hotel and outstanding staff are committed to quality and exceptional service. Our spacious rooms offer either a king or two queen beds with luxurious white bedding, executive level and king whirlpool rooms available. All rooms feature a refrigerator, microwave, free wired/wireless Internet, 2 line cordless phone, Simply Smart shower experience, and much more! All rooms include free hot breakfast.Take a swim in our Michigan shaped indoor heated pool, enjoy a relaxing evening in our sauna or in our indoor/outdoor spa, a game of pool in our game room or basketball on the outdoor sports court. Enjoy time outside on our outdoor patio reading a book, soaking in the sun or grilling on our complimentary gas grill. Holland, Michigan is home to many fortune 5 companies such as Herman Miller, Johnson Controls, Gentex, Haworth, Consumers Power, Siemens, and S2/Tiara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Holland Hotel Holland
Holiday Inn Holland
Holland Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing