We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect a wait”

Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub
Ranked #3 of 232 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual upscale Grill and Pub located between Holland and Zeeland. Locally owned S&P has a an adventurous American pub style menu. Fresh certified Angus steaks and steakburgers to Seared Ahi Tuna to Idaho Nachos (waffle fries loaded with cheese and bacon). S&P is a comfortable place that always has lots of laughter. Our Happy hour is great featuring 24 taps of craft and import beers, wines, and cocktails from 2 to 5:30 pm daily and noon to 3pm on Saturdays. We want you to enjoy yourself at S&P. We take reservations for lunch and dinner daily. Please call 355-5501. We hope to see you soon. Mike and Stephanie
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expect a wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have been to Salt and Pepper twice for lunch and both times thought it was a really good restaurant. In fact I haven't been able to get a table for dinner without a substantial wait. Don't let the fact that it is in a strip mall fool you. The food is great and the atmosphere is good for all ages.

The Lunch Menu including the specials are always great. If someone you know is Gluten Free, this is a particularly good stop because there are plenty of options. The portions are generous and when the weather is good, the outside patio is a great place to hang out. The best part of eating at Salt and Pepper is the service. The waitstaff is great.

We can't wait to go back, maybe this time for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We hate to make people wait. We do take reservations at lunch and dinner. Even if you are on your way for lunch, call us and we will either hold a table for you or put your name down and save you time waiting. We do hear a lot that the restaurant does not match the strip mall location but it is a nicer then average strip mall too. We appreciate your support of our locally owned restaurant and if we can ever be of service, please do not hesitate to ask. Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    96
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service at a reasonable price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a great place for lunch or dinner. Wide variety of menu options with some out of the ordinary food. Great service, friendly and fast, perfect place to have an appetizer and glass of wine also. Had the artichoke chicken and a huge side of garlic mashed potatoes, wonderful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for the kind words and for supporting our place. We wanted a place that is comfy and not boring. Glad you like it. Come again soon!! Mike and Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice time, especially if you are GF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

So we went here because it offered a Gluten Free menu selection. And not just salad, but GF free burger buns (which I was told was very good). Our meal was very good, and I opted for the waffle fries. Which, was a good choice, but everyone else at our table was eating them also! Choose the fries, they were fantastic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
So glad you liked our place. We have tried very hard since day one to provide for GF and others with dietary needs. We understand how hard it can be to find accommodating places to eat. Hope to see you again soon! Mike and Stephanie Karas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Went for my birthday with my wife and 15 month old. Service was great, chef Micky's specials were amazing and the beer selection was tasty. Mike even stopped by our table to see if all was well. Going back today for round two!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
So Glad you liked it and Micky's specials are special. Come see us again soon. Mike and Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. We visited there because of the reviews. It has great ambience & great service. Our server Holly was fantastic. She was really informative about the menu & had a great personality. The food was excellent and quick to come out. We will be eating here again in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, Owner at Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Holly is very special. She is hospitality personified. We are so glad you enjoyed our place and hope to see you again in the future. Mike and Steph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing