We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub

Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub
Ranked #3 of 229 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual upscale Grill and Pub located between Holland and Zeeland. Locally owned S&P has a an adventurous American pub style menu. Fresh certified Angus steaks and steakburgers to Seared Ahi Tuna to Idaho Nachos (waffle fries loaded with cheese and bacon). S&P is a comfortable place that always has lots of laughter. Our Happy hour is great featuring 24 taps of craft and import beers, wines, and cocktails from 2 to 5:30 pm daily and noon to 3pm on Saturdays. We want you to enjoy yourself at S&P. We take reservations for lunch and dinner daily. Please call 355-5501. We hope to see you soon. Mike and Stephanie
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I've been to the Salt & Pepper Grill a couple of times now. While the food is run-of-the-mill American chain restaurant type fare (Burgers, nachos, sandwiches, etc), the place has a relaxed atmosphere that is perfect for a night out with friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank autumn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    96
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Interesting atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant several times. The food is good and the decor is interesting. One of the rooms has a wall paper view of Amsterdam. I like the restaurant for its service and large portions.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patti4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Really like this resturant alot. Great steaks and prime rib. A big selection of craft beers and great service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken_M69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a gift card for this restaurant and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised! We loved the decor and were very surprised at the size of the restaurant. It didn't look that large from the outside. It also has a very large outdoor patio that we are anxious to try when we are no longer in the 20 degree stage! The menu choices were good and we enjoyed our S&P burgers. The kettle chips were great with the chip dip that accompanied them. My husband had a side-salad with some kind of cherry viniagrette dressing that was VERY good. We had a glass of their house Chardonnay - good-sized glass for $5.75. We will definitely return!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 123Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I visited this restaurant on a Friday evening with colleagues and clients. It is a relatively new restaurant located on the northern side of Holland. It was very busy on that Friday evening and seeing all the people who turned out made our expectations run very high. Go to where all the locals go, right?

The restaurant is located in a strip mall where parking is at a premium. The restaurant is very clean and attractive.

We were seated immediately (we had a reservation). The server had a menu to everyone and then proceeded to take drink orders; good so far. She returned in a few minutes with everyone’s drinks and then asked if we’d like to order appetizers. We ordered a number of items including Roasted Pepper & Artichoke Bake, Sesame Seared Tuna, Ale Battered Onion Rings, Chix City Calamari, and something called the Yummus Platter. Everything tasted as though it had been frozen and thawed. Nothing seemed to be fresh tasting.

Our server immediately took our dinner orders (upon serving the appetizers). I ordered their Mango Chipotle Baby Back Ribs; my wife ordered their Tomato Pesto Alfredo Pasta, and then our wait began. It took almost 45 minutes for our food to arrive. My ribs were over cooked and had no taste. My wife’s pasta was good except for the Alfredo sauce which had no taste and the chicken was, well, chicken. No one thought their dinner was great. When offered take-home containers for the leftovers, everyone declined; a sure sign of the quality of the food.

The service was terribly slow. Our server left dirty plates and silverware on the table way too long. It was expected for the guests to reuse their silverware from course to course, a total no-no.

I cannot recommend this restaurant for all of the reasons listed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBeekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Salt and Pepper Savory Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing