We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach!!”

Holland State Park Beach
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great beach!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We went here twice while we were in town. It was a nice, clean sandy beach. It was fun to take a walk out on the pier and take a closer look at the lighthouse. Very picturesque. It was also nice that there was a covered picnic area, changing room & bathrooms, & concession stand available. It costs $10 to get into the park, but the fee allows you access to all MI state parks for the entire year. If you already have a valid state park pass, you won't need to pay.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigTrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    273
    56
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach with easy access near a wonderful town!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The west coast of Michigan is well known for its beaches, activities, scenic views and small beach towns. Most of these towns have their own unique character and features which should match most any preferences. Our trip to Holland Michigan was just what we needed!

Holland has a few claims to fame: Tulips and their Dutch windmill, small colleges and a clean look and feel which seems uncommonly nice relative to most communities with an incredible beach. Holland MI. was recently nationally ranked (Gallup) as one of the happiest cities in the country (#2). It is the beach,however, that we really enjoyed. We will remember the 74° F water, low 80 degree weather and rich lake water breeze quickly soaked up by our dried Colorado skin.... Ahhhhh...!! :)

You will probably be staying somewhere other than the beach although there are camping facilities fairly close by . We had about a 10-15 minute trip from our hotel to the usual state park entrance. The white sand is very fine, the beach is very large (50-100+ yards deep) and the facilities were easily accessible as needed. The gentle sloping beach was very easy to traverse allowing little-ones and adults an easy walk to the desired depth. The waves in the deeper parts were great fun @ ~5' while still pleasant to walk along for the sand-castle types. What struck me the most was the percent of families with smaller children having a great time close the the beach. This is a great family beach :)

The Michigan State Parks charge per car was 8$ for a single-day pass or 10$ for a one year resident fee. I'm not sure what the economy will do the prices or facilities, but we consider it a great deal.

The pier was very scenic, but having walked more than a few growing up in Michigan, I skipped this one. If you are wanting to walk along the water on sidewalks and such you might pick a different area (or different part of Holland). The tourist center between 8th and 9th can provide plenty of suggestions and materials to find a vacation destination that matches your needs.

For us, a few days on the beach at Holland State Park was perfect to relax, unwind, play in the water and soak up the rays. If you are looking for "Baywatch" type action... this is probably not the place for you.

For a nice synopsis see:

http://www.michigan.org/City/Default.aspx?city=G3149

For a good overview see:

http://holland.org/

Good Travels!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank colucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Beach on Lake Michigan”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Spent a lot of time here 25 years ago when growing up & great to see not much has changed. Huge beach, fun to walk out on the pier (& jump off!), best of all is watching the boats come in & out from Lake Mac. Can be crowded on weekends & parking can be an issue. Often fills up & you can't get in.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank icuski2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in Michigan..”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is one of the best beaches in Michigan..

The previous review has everything you need to know :

"Great sand. Clean water, Nice walk out on the lighthouse Pier."

It's also a good place for people and boat watching. We just sat by the pier under the shade of a tree and spent hours lazing around and relaxing...

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Great sand. Clean water, Nice walk out on the lighthouse Pier. Has everything you need.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank vinniebuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holland State Park Beach also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Holland State Park Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing