We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So nice for a small town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityVu Bistro - CLOSED

CityVu Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fremont, Indiana
Level Contributor
125 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So nice for a small town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

You must have the carrot cake...........seriously

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pkt6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    55
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
257 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“CitySen Grand RAPIDS: Terrible non-existant service, overpriced, so/so food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went with a party of 8 to CitySen (CityFlats/ GrandRapids) - whilst the location was okay (liked the funky-ness of the hotel experience, not the location of the tables/sitting close by to the front desk where people are checking in - just like having dinner in the hotel lobby!) the service was right out horrible or non-existant, the food was okay but not impressive, the prices WAY overpriced for what they offered!!!

Our waitress must have waitered never before in her life: it took about 20 min to get anyone's attention ( with a prty of 8?), took for ever to get water...and drinks, brought the mediocre food before drinks, still no silverware - had to track the "water person" down to get silverware for the food which was in the meantime cold, mixed it all up, added automatically 20% service at the end? No apology, lame excuses - no idea why I did not ask to speak to the manager - maybe b/c we were celebrating our friends b'day and I did not want to ruin - even more - the overall bad experience? Left with a bill which for sure was incorrect - when we asked for separate checks the waiter took the total, and split every single item on the bill by 8 - e.g. an item priced at $ 10.00 showing as an item at $1.25 listing all teh items consumed - no way to check upon accuracy.
Will NEVER GO BACK!!!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

My husband and I visited City Vu for lunch...it was just what we needed. So beautiful to din above and look out at this great West Michigan city. The wine list was quite extensive and fairly reasonable, and the food was just as impressive. The portions were ample, fresh, and very flavorful--we recommend the shrimp soup, the side salads to accompany any dish, and the spinach/artichoke dip app. Honestly, though, everything on the lunch menu was incredibly appetizing. Jeff, the manager, was very kind and stopped to chat with us about this great restaurant in this interesting and green (LEED) hotel, City Flats. Definitely check out this great little gem off of the main thoroughfare (8th St.)...it's definitely worth the block walk to 7th and elevator up to the 5th floor! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AandJTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Pretentious, over priced and gross. Went back to our hotel and ordered pizza.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsTJK3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Great Atmosphere and Service with a variety of options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

My family and I went to City Vu for our Father's Day brunch. We all had a great experience. There was something there for everyone including outstanding omelets, deluxe french toast, a make it yourself salmon bagel sandwich, or just good ol' eggs, pancakes, and bacon. My favorite part about City Vu is the great view of the city of Holland. I also like the fancy table settings. I have eaten at City Vu about 4-6 times and the service has been great every time. We made reservations so we did not have to wait for a table. The wait staff is extremely friendly and the food is prepared in good time.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank honeymoon1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CityVu Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing