We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A twist on Tradition.”
Review of Boatwerks

Boatwerks
Ranked #15 of 288 Restaurants in Holland
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boatwerks Waterfront Restaurant is Holland's only waterfront restaurant! The indoor dining room and Runabout Lounge feature picturesque views of Lake Macatawa on three sides, or enjoy outdoor dining and unbeatable views from the outdoor patio and bar during warmer months. The New American Menu features fresh seafood and premium meats, with a focus on fresh preparations and quality produce. The building's design features exposed beams and brick, harkening back to the historic boat-building factories that lined the shore of Lake Macatawa in earlier days. The restaurant walls are lined with historic photos of Lakes Michigan and Macatawa and historic Holland, Michigan. The Boatwerks Event Center features the beautiful, 3,300-square-foot Black River Ballroom and an outdoor courtyard, suitable for weddings and family or corporate events of up to 300 people. Make your dining plans for Boatwerks Restaurant in Holland, Michigan today!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a unique four-course meal on traditional Dutch cuisine. It is a premier restaurant on the waterfront.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Lois!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (985)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing patio and food with a beautiful view of the sunset. Appropriate for families too! The wait was estimated way longer than it actually was and the general manager was helping out all of the staff. Our waitress was very good, highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank L2pst2cK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While checking in the hotel my wife and I told the front desk lady that we wanted to have a dinner cooked of a fresh caught fish, and asked for her recommendations. “ Boatwerks” - was her response.
Here is a list of good and bed (with our emotions put aside):
Good
We were seated promptly.
Beautiful sunset view.
Bad
Food:

House salad consisted of assorted leaves topped up with few tiny pieces of sliced radish. Shrimp we added to the salad was burnt and tasted bitter.
We expected our main meal (walleye) be hot since we waited for it for almost an hour, but it was just warm. The fish tasted blunt. The side dish was asparagus which came chunky.
Service:
No bread was offered.
No water was refilled until the very end of the dinner.
The waiter (Lexa) brought our check before we even asked for one. We were not given chance to discuss any additions, such as a desert, to our dinner.
Right before we left one of the lady-managers asked us how our dinner went.
She did offer to bring us something? after I told her the truth. Then she happily walked away from our table after I said “No” without any apology or a reasonable solution to a just created problem…
We loved Holland town, and we will be back, but we have no intention of returning to the Boatwerks.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Markiz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are extremely sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management team and try and get these issues resolved. Please feel free to reach out to our Human Resources Manager, Shawna Groendal, if you would like to discuss your visit in more detail. 616-796-0740. Again, we are very sorry you didn't enjoy your experience, and want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went as a couple with our toddler. I was a little hesitant about bringing a child, but it was a little more relaxed for a "nice" place than I was expecting, which is fantastic for any kids tagging along. Our food was very good, but we did find the service a bit too slow. The table behind us felt the same way, as we heard them ask a staff member if they would have a server at some point. We also waited quite a while before someone came to even get drinks started for us...we sort of felt forgotten after we'd been sitting for quite some time. Me and my husband LOVED the spicy Thai lettuce wraps appetizer. Our main dishes were still tasty, but compared to the appetizer they were a slight letdown...that's how much we loved the appetizer. I would order the Thai lettuce wraps as my actual meal next time. My "Moscow Mule" (called something else there), was a little too light on the lime for my liking, so I asked for some extra lime and it was perfect. My husband got a beer on tap that he wanted to try, so he was happy with that. Outdoor space looked lovely, but we ate inside. We'd definitely go back, just wish the service was little more on-point.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback Stephanie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Big parking lot and a really nice view. We returned after three years. The menu didn't seem to have as many selections. I ended up with the shrimp pasta. It was in an alfredo sauce and had a cheese taste to it. My wife got the Caesar salad. They brought her the large when she only wanted the smaller. If you don't say they just automatically bring the large. She added chicken which was well prepared. The restuarant closed at 2:00 for a private event. There is a park with a playground next door.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wheels282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatwerks, Manager at Boatwerks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatwerks also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Boatwerks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing