We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...but just like all the other soft serve places.”
Review of Captain Sundae

Captain Sundae
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good...but just like all the other soft serve places.”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The ice cream was good and the service was good. They were busy but had the staff to handle it. But when all was finished, I found it no different than other soft serve places I've been to. I'm not giving a bad review at all and I would stop again if I was driving by; I just wouldn't make it a destination.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    56
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The only place to go after a day at the beach!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have been visiting Captain Sundae for as long as I can remember and there isn't one sundae that isn't as delicious as the other here! The Tommy Turtle is the most famous, but you will want to keep coming back until you've tried them all!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kchance44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“You haven't been to Holland unless...”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

OK, If you like ice cream and you love Holland, you MUST go to Captain Sundaes. The best Turtle in the world. And all the other ice cream creations are also the best.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it so much I came two days in a row!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

First, I should clarify. I rarely go out for ice cream, and when I do I NEVER go out for soft serve. So the fact that I visit Captain Sundae twice in two days and enjoyed two different soft serve sundaes is definitely saying something. They do also have non-soft serve options as well.

This restaurant is fantastic! They have two different locations in the Holland area and I visited both. The 40th street location has significantly more space and does have indoor seating, the Douglas location does not. It is so much fun to pick through the 30 plus options of sundae's and I was so happy that I could personalize mine even further after I ordered. Both were delicious.

I will visit Captain Sundae every time I return to Holland. Love it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect place to go after visiting the beach!”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our family went to the beach to watch the sunset and naturally, that gave us an appetite! We stopped at Captain Sundae and everyone loved the unique sundaes they offer. It was fun to go to a local ice cream shoppe with such a big selection of flavors. The servings were large (I have 4 teens) and the ice cream was delicious. It was a delightful way to end the night.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RegTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Sundae also viewed

 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to Captain Sundae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing