We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay with a great restaurant to match.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay with a great restaurant to match.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Very simple, clean and comfortable place to stay. The first thing I noticed was there was no rugs. I was a little taken back but quickly got over it. The beds are very nice. In fact I would go and say it was one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. (comparably to Westin). The TV is direct TV and was kind of disappointed that I couldn't get a few channels but I didn't come to watch TV. The shower is a walk-in shower. This is the first time I ever had a shower like that it grew on me. Nice and big parking lot with plenty of space. Close to the main strip but far enough away not to get any noise associated with it. On the top floor is the restaurant City Vu. I enjoyed the food there from the breakfast to the dinner. I was glad that it was close and didn't need to go out to have good food. Staff was friendly and helpful. Oh yeah, internet included!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WabashClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    113
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
192
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

What a nice place! I encourage anyone interested in unique hotels to try CityFlats. It appears all of the rooms are different which is neat. The colors are modern and serene. The rooms have high ceilings and do not have carpet but still seemed quiet. The bed sheets are so soft and comfortable. The walk-in shower (no door) was great. I had a little trouble with the thermostat and one of the televisions (yes, two tvs - one for each bed) but the problems were solved quickly by the friendly front desk person. My only complaint was that the position of the beds didn't allow for a nightlight for reading or a bedside clock. Also, there was only a desk chair and not a comfy one for lounging. As I said though, all rooms are different so if these things are important you should ask. I liked that it was only a block from downtown shopping.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FWA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
721 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Very modern decor and "green" furnished. Also within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants in Holland. Had a quiet night's sleep. May be a bit over priced for the area, but it's a place you need to try at least once.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I was in Holland, Michigan on a business trip (visiting from California). The hotel was very boutique like and the room was amazing! The room was clean and modern and it had the most comfortable bed in the world! The towels were soft & thick, the service was pleasant! I would definately recommend. It is in a class by itself.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCreativeGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

My son (11) and I wanted a cool place to hang out for a night. We just wanted to get room service and watch a movie. While the room was clean and the decor cool (but still kind of reminded me of my old dorm room)--the hotel itself is rediculously overpriced for what you get. The room service menu consisted of about 7 items--none of which looked that appetizing to me and certainly contained nothing my son would eat. Even if we would have chosen to order from the over priced menu we would have had to pick it up from the front desk when it was ready?! Apparently, $200/night for a very small single room doesnt entitle you to actual "room service." When it was time for a movie our option was to watch something from the movie channel off of Direct TV.
Lastly, I was waken at about 2:00 am by other guests walking and talking in the hallway. Apparently "green" also means no sound proofing of the walls because I could hear every word they were saying.
We both decided it would have been more relaxing to have stayed at home, ordered take out and watch direct tv in bed. Now we (and you) know.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momofkidsGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the City Flats on June 5-6 and loved it. It was right downtown and within walking distance to everything. The rooms were so different and unique than anywhere we had ever stayed. The beds were so comfortable. The service was good and the breakfast at the City Vu resturant was excellent. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klawrence925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

My husband and I love contemporary design and clean lines (think IKEA), so CityFlats was the perfect hotel for us -- nothing like the other lacy B & Bs in the area. Their website gives you a great feel for the place. Each room is different, but every room is GREEN. The 100% bamboo sheets (and cotton bamboo blend towels) are fabulous. I even came home and ordered similar sheets on the internet. (Ask at the desk and they'll give you a price guide to buy any of their linens or bedding.) We were very comfortable and very happy with the service. The food in the upstairs dining room was only okay, but the view of the sunset was very nice. I'd definitely recommend this hotel highly, especially to any one who appreciates contemporary design. There are cool little perks too, like an iPod docking station alarm clock and special parking for hybrid cars. This is my kind of place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBoilers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing