We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a Holland visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for a Holland visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved the town of Holland on our pre-tulip festival visit. We found the location of this hotel to be perfect for exploring the downtown area-only a block or two away from many shops and restaurants. It was also very close to a great park where you can walk, run or ride bikes. The room was interesting as we expected. We loved the comfort of the bed and the softness of the bamboo sheets. The tile shower was wonderful. We agree that the chairs could be a little more comfortable but we did not spend much time in the room.
Overall, we found the staff to be polite but not friendly with the exception of the staff in the downstairs bar. We found out about hotel activities from a local art gallery. We were not given much information when we checked in and had to request a parking pass when the tulip festival started. The hotel has a small parking lot and the free town of Holland parking nearby does not allow overnight parking.
Overall, it was a great visit but staff needs to do more to make guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed Tulip Time and the CityFlatsHotel. Our location makes it easy to do anything you want in the downtown Holland area, without the need to get into a car and drive, and we are happy you were able to take advantage of so much happening in the area! We do share a parking lot with the city of Holland, and the front desk has permits to park in them overnight, if you are a hotel guest. We appreciate all input from our guests, and at this time will definitely share your comments with our team to make sure we are keeping our guests readily supplied with information about the hotel! Thanks again for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    113
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
192
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Holland for "pre" Tulip Festival activities. It was our first trip to Holland and we stayed at City Flats based on a friends recommendation who said it was in the middle of downtown. The elevator requires a room key to go to your floor which is a great safety feature, but was an inconvenience the day we were checking out as our key was not functional before we checked out and could not access the elevator as we moved luggage. The room was unique, trendy, urban. The shades black out all outside light and I am sure keep energy costs down. Although after room service when we would return our shades were closed with ALL our lights on. (Not sure how efficient that is.), The room was like walking into an IKEA showroom. While being trendy, the room really was not very functional. Shared closet door that was also your bathroom door. No light switch for the toilet area. If you got up in the middle of the night you had to turn on the bathroom light which illuminated the sleeping area. Side lights by the bed that would not function unless the lights above the bed were turned on. We stayed on the fourth floor which had the restaurant above us. As I tried getting to bed a little early the first night all I could hear was chairs going across the floor above me. Again at 6:00a.m. the sound of chairs. I am surprised so little thought went into sound proofing. Bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were soft, clean, and a pleasure to slip into. The living area was not that comfortable with IKEA type furnishings that were not a pleasure to come back to after a long day.
Bar was a happening place each evening. Staff seemed to go through the motions and really did not engage or help with recommendations of where to go or what to see when asked. Overall okay place but not worth the increase in weekend rate.

Room Tip: Stay off the fourth floor. The bistro is above and all you could hear was chairs going across the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newsfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are always looking for ways to improve upon what we do and take advantage of past stays to make changes in the future. The room keys in the elevator sometimes do get tricky, since the key cards deactivate at a certain time on days of check-out, but the front desk is able to quickly reactivate them if you are staying a little longer during the day. All 56 of our rooms are individually designed with different furnishings, meaning no two are exactly the same. If you ever find yourself back in Holland and would like to stay with us again, I am certain you will have a wonderful experience. We really do appreciate your feedback and would love another opportunity to make your stay in Holland and with the CityFlatsHotel an unforgettable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I must say I was curious when I booked this hotel for a college visit. The service, decor and comfort surpassed my expectations. First class, relaxed, friendly service from the bar to the restaurant, housekeeping and front desk. The rooms are appointed in Eco-friendly decor that provides an interesting back drop to this pretty little town in Michigan. Plenty of room for two, worth the stay just to be in a room with some point of view and comfort.
Quiet, modern and CLEAN!
Wish there were others around the country, I would seek them out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
So glad you had a nice time. It is always so great when someone finds the fun and unexpected in Holland, through our hotel! Hopefully you can join us again soon, and take advantage of all the offers and events our hotel has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

CityFlats is located in the heart of downtown Holland. The rooms are immaculate, the staff is gracious & service oriented and food/beverages are tasty. Very contempary in its setup & decor. A real treat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you had a nice time, join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay at the hotel. Room was interesting but very nice. Front Desk was very helpful. Very quiet even with band in the bar. Loved the morning breakfast!!! Scones and fresh fruit were awesone. Only wish they had more decaf tea for after dinner. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noonieboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you had such a nice experience. Glad to hear that your room was quiet even with the band, and hopefully you had a chance to listen to them and to enjoy Sushi Night!

Yes, currently we only have three varieties of decaf tea available, but thank you for your suggestion, hopefully next time you stay we will have a few more available for you!

Thanks again and visit Holland again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in the not so typical hotel room - interestingly European and modern decor. Clean room with some signs of wear on furniture and walls. Note that due to the train tracks and busy roads, as well as no carpet in the rooms or hall, there is extra noise. Our preference is a firm mattress - bed was extremely soft. Staff was friendly and free continental breakfast M-F included cereal, danishes, yogurt, fruit. Convenient, easy walk to downtown Holland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveOurVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was our first weekend alone as a couple in 8 years and we decided to visit our college son in Holland,Michigan. We chose the City Flats because of the unique vibe and we were not disappointed. As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are truly one of a kind and the memory foam pillow top mattress was so comfortable.

We loved exploring the shops and restaurants in Holland. City Flats has a Bistro on the 5th floor. in the summer, you can sit on the deck and enjoy the view, but year-round, the food is outstanding.

The staff is helpful and accommodating. We had an issue with the lighting over the bed and they came immediately to change the bulbs. If you happen to be a parent of a Hope student, there is a small discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canandaiguanative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityflats, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for such a great review, we are so happy you had a great time at the hotel and in Holland. We hope you have the chance to take another weekend as a couple soon, 8 years is too long!

If you were interested in ordering the pillows or any other bedding you can visit our website at shop.cityflatshotel.com.

Enjoy summer in Holland too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing