We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at City Flats because there was no other hotel available in Holland, even though it was twice the price of any other spot. The hotel is a little strange due to the 'green' materials and eco-friendly atmosphere. The lobby is gray concrete floors and the other floors in the hallways and rooms are recycled rubber. You can hear everything in the hotel like an echo chamber. I heard every door close. The beds are extremely comfortable and the hotel is extremely clean (a big plus!). I think a hotel that charges $200 a night in Holland should have a continental breakfast. Nothing is offered as an extra. There is high priced coffee bar in the lobby in which the clerk makes you a cup. Overall a very nice and unique lace to stay with a great location. The hotel bar is cool too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Tim K,

Thank you for staying with us at CityFlatsHotel. If you choose to stay with us again, please note that there is free coffee available in the lobby for all overnight guests! If there's anything we can do to make your next stay more memorable, please feel free to let us know.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    105
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
93
183
12
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary. Enjoyed being so close to downtown. Liked the uniqueness of the room. It would be a nice place to stay for a day or two, but wouldn't be very comfortable any longer than that. Beds were very nice, if anything maybe too soft. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear jjbeagle,

Thank you for your review of CityFlatsHotel! We are glad that you had a nice stay. If there's anything we can do for you to accommodate a longer stay you may contact me directly at 616-796-2105. I am happy to be of assistance.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

downtown Holland, Michigan, just one block from the shopping street...Our room was very large, comfortable, well.appointed and European in flavor. the hallways are all "carpeted" in Chilewich fiber, giving it a very clean and unusual appearance, matching the design of the undulated walls, hanging lighting and wall covered areas to draw attention.

The king.bed is also well.appointed with the bedding that is available through the hotel...even selling mattresses. the storage units are built.in and provide spaces for luggage and whatever.else one might want to put "out.of.the.way" for your stay. The huge tiled shower is also very European and delightful.

all.in.all, it is a private get.away for the traveler...we love it.

Room Tip: 320 was our room...we would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mary Ann F,

We are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay! If you choose to purchase a CityDrem mattress or CityDrem bedding, everything is conveniently available on our website.

We hope that you visit us again soon.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the comfortable bed the hotel provides. Our friends stayed here sometime back and loved the bed so much that they had to buy one. The bed is quite soft and we did sleep well on it. We may check further into buying one. The location one block from downtown Holland's pubs, restaurants and shopping district was great. The hotel is very well laid out with a nice restaurant on the top floor. We had Sunday brunch there and it was very good. The bar area on the ground floor was nice for having a drink before retiring to bed. The large TV is hooked on the end of the bed which was real nice to have so close and speakers for the TV in the shower area. I do have some minor complaints. There are no coffee pots in the rooms so one has to go to the ground floor to get a cup of joe. Be aware that there is no pool.The only other complaint is that this hotel is quite expensive. We have stayed at many hotels in large cities with much more to offer for less money. A nice Hotel all around but probably would not stay here again because it was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRPINGRMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear KRPINGRMI,

We're glad that you chose to stay with us at CityFlatsHotel! If you decide you would like to purchase a CityDrem mattress, feel free to call us 616-796-2100 if you have any questions.

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

ecologically friendly hotel design done in a way to make the room and hotel interiors warmer and more inviting than I ever thought possible. Very, very friendly and knowledgeable staff made this the only hotel choice for me in Holland. The hotel is also within walking distance to so very good downtown Holland restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: chose a room facing the back of the hotel to cut down on street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear johnbrisker,

Thank you for your nice review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. If your travels ever bring you back to Holland we hope that you choose CityFlatsHotel for your lodging needs.

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at CityFlats while in town for a wedding. The hotel is trendy and unique, the bathroom had a great shower, and the bed was honestly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! I would stay here again just to sleep in the bed!!! Sadly the reason I gave the hotel an average rating was the service. The service wasn't bad but it wasn't friendly or inviting. When I pay over $200 a night for a hotel room it would be nice to be greated with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear hjeldon,

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you had an enjoyable stay. If you would like a CityDrem mattress to call your own they are available for purchase on our website under "shop".

I am sorry to hear that you did not receive top notch service. If you would like to discuss the situation further, please contact me directly at 616-796-2105.

We hope that you visit us again soon!

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan town
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great long weekend stay here. Great customer service at check-in, hotel room was clean and roomy. The room was a very different layout, no carpet, bed in corner, large bathroom. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was great. One of the best features of this hotel is the location, just one block from 8th Street which is the downtown area. Just a 10-15 minute drive to Holland State Park. Free parking and plenty of it. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast one day and it was good. There was a free continental breakfast on Monday in the lobby which was small, but fine. Overall, a great stay and we would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the parking lot. Next time, I would ask for a room facing the downtown area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekendgetaways010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear weekendgetaways010,

Thank you for your review! It's always nice to hear what our guests have to say. We hope that you join us again soon!

Katie Madonio
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 19 in Holland
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Teerman Lofts
Teerman Lofts
#2 of 19 in Holland
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing