We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I loved the design of the hotel. Very modern and earth friendly. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants but enjoyed coffee in the lobby early in the morning.

The room was very comfortable for 4 chicks on a "girls weekend". Back to back headboards were brilliant for those who didn't want to watch tv while going to sleep. The bed and linens were amazing. Incredibly comfortable. I actually looked on line to purchase them but they were a little too pricey. The best mattress and bedding ever. I'm still considering buying them, though. They might be worth it.

I'd definitely go back to CithFlats if I were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azsue381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Azsue 1,

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Hopefully next time you get a chance to check out our top floor bistro!

We hope to see you again soon. Maybe one more visit will convince you that you need a CityDrem mattress! :)

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    113
    40
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
192
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

CityFlats Hotel in downtown Holland is very fancy and modern. I loved the huge walk-in shower very, very much. The beds were super confortable and it was cool that each bed (we had two queens) each had their own plasma tv. I didn't however like the fact that there wasn't carpeting on the floor in the room.

If you're into very modern architecture and are willing to spend more for it then this would be a great place to stay. However, if you like hotel rooms to be a bit more on the confy side, more homey, you won't like CityFlats.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear MelaniePF,

Thank you for staying with us, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit! We hope that you stay with us again if you ever come back to Holland. We also have a location in Grand Rapids in case you're ever interested!

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for one night at the CityFlats Hotel in Holland, Michigan. Our room was a queen double. The decor of the hotel is modern and energy efficient. The room was like a loft apartment with high ceilings and wood dividers. The bathroom had an enormous tiled walk-in shower. There was no carpet on the floor, which gave the room a very clean feeling and was great for my allergy prone daughter. The beds were platform with temperpedic mattresses and very good quality bedding. No noise could be heard from other rooms. There is a good restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. The location is within walking distance of the charming downtown. This newer hotel is unique and quite a find. It is a bit more expensive than generic hotels, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Francesginger,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at CityFlats! We're glad that you enjoyed the hotel room as well as the bistro. Your feedback is appreciated.

Please come and visit us again soon!

Thank you,
Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I simply can't say enough good things about this hotel. That it is in Holland, Mi is amazing enough as the level of design sophistication shouts of big-city class. The room was simply huge and the bathroom was enormous. All the details were so sophisticated and well-designed from color choices and textures and fixtures and floorings. And you were just a block away from the Holland main downtown street with lots of restaurants and shops for your consideration. There is a good restaurant in the hotel but it was full for dinner when we tried it so had to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Burney A,

Thank you for visiting us all the way from sunny California! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you can visit us again and enjoy dinner in our bistro if it's not too busy!

Thank you,
Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was my first visit to Holland. Although a bit pricey, CityFlats was a great place to stay. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. It was located walking distance to downtown Holland and Hope College. The hotel's eco-friendly focus was a draw for me personally.
I appreciated the small business center off the lobby to look up information on local attractions and print off confirmations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinjaScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear NinjaScooter,

Thank you for visiting us all the way from BEAUTIFUL Colorado! Any and all feedback is useful to us and helps us to improve for our future guests. We hope that you enjoyed your stay enough to consider coming back in the near future!

We hope to see you soon.

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I loved this hotel! We stayed at CityFlats for a wedding in February 2012, and it was such a nice weekend stay. The hotel has an eco-friendly focus, which I appreciate. It's located downtown near shops and restaurants. They have plenty of free parking. But the best amenity is the beds.

Even better, you can purchase the bedding in the lobby! It's eco-friendly, and more importantly, it was such soft, luxurious bedding. I could have slept in that bed for days on end. The sheets were cool and soft, and the comforter and mattress made me feel like I was sleeping in a marshmallow. I like firm mattresses, and this was by no means lacking. It was just so comfy.

We had breakfast on the top floor every morning, and the food was fresh and light. The service was good, and it provides a nice view of the area. I would schedule a weekend away to Holland just to stay in this fun, sleek and cozy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Debra B,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at CityFlats! If you ever feel the need to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chicago, we hope that you consider Holland for your next relaxing vacation spot.

Also, please give us a call if you're interested in purchasing a CityDrem mattress 616-796-2100.

Thank you for the nice review!

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We took our dogs for a weekend trip to Holland and Saugatuck and chose the City Flats Hotel for its green rating and because it looked very nice. Well, it more than lived up to our expectations. In fact, I wish the hotel were in Chicago, because I don't have much cause to go back to Holland repeatedly. I might have to build a vacation around staying at the City Flats though.

Anyway, the decor is whimsical and colorful, and it's also very fun through its sheer determination to be contemporary. We took pictures of ourselves in various spots around the hotel, primarily because we are dorky, but also because the decor is part of the experience. Skip the workout room (which is pretty forgettable), and go straight for the food. We ordered room service on a lark, and the flatbreads were huge and tasty. We also got the Five Cheese mac & cheese, and though it's quite rich, I have nothing bad to say about it. The food came quickly (it comes from the in-house restaurant), and the servers were excellent models of how to raise your children into charming young adults.

The beds are....how shall I say this....enough to distract even honeymooners from their main event. The bamboo sheets are so soft that sleep is its own kind of ecstasy, and it's really hard to stay awake after putting your head on the fluffy pillows.

The dogs also liked that one of our windows reached the floor, so that she could look out at the people in the park below. If you do bring dogs, remember their beds, because the floors (at least in our room) were not carpeted save for a small thinly covered area.

You'll love the spacious bathrooms and tubs and the big flat screen tv too.

Room Tip: Reserve way in advance of the tulip festival. If you happen to be traveling then, expect it to be a...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GiselleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Public Relations Manager at CityFlatsHotel - Holland, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear GiselleF,

Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're glad that even your dogs enjoyed the room :)

Maybe one day CityFlats will expand to the Chicago area, but until then, we hope that you find an excuse to come back to quaint downtown Holland!

Katie Madonio
Marketing Coordinator
CityFlatsHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Holland Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haworth Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Holland
1.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityFlatsHotel - Holland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityFlatsHotel - Holland

Property: CityFlatsHotel - Holland
Address: 61 E 7th St, Holland, MI 49423-2913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Holland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Holland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Holland
#6 Family Hotel in Holland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CityFlatsHotel - Holland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityFlatsHotel Holland is a 56 room boutique hotel in downtown Holland, MI and the first hotel in the Midwest to be LEED Gold Certified. The hotel's modern furnishings and urban feel make it a unique and exciting part of the West Michigan area. The entire hotel was built from local materials and renewable resources, creating a unique staying experience for all guests. Whether you're looking to book a room, a wedding, or host a corporate event, CityFlatsHotel is unlike any other space you've ever seen. With eco-friendly accommodations, sleek and tasteful decor, as well as an extremely attentive staff, we pride ourselves in being the best. Not to mention, all of our guest rooms include complimentary wireless Internet access and phones. Consider us for your next visit or event in Holland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your CityFlatsHotel - Holland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityflats Hotel Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing