We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nats North Side Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gilmore Car Museum

Gilmore Car Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ever expanding Gilmore Car Museum, hailed as one of the Top Five car museums in the nation, features over nearly extraordinary cars and motorcycles from all eras. The Automotive Heritage Center (about 150 vehicles) is Open daily year-round. The outdoor park-like campus of historic buildings (including 1930s gas station, working 1940s diner and several exhibit sturctures)are open April - Novemember.Museum exhibits range from cars of the 1890s to the classic Duesenberg, the elusive 1948 Tucker, to the muscle cars of the ‘60s and ‘70s. Located just off M-43 at Hickory Road near Hickory Corners (20 minutes northeast of Kalamazoo, MI)
Chicago Heights, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nats North Side Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

My daughter (13) and I were looking for something to do while in town for the NSRA Nationals North and we decided to go to the Gilmore Museum. I had been there years ago, it was a great surprise how awesome the museum is now. We enjoyed it 110%! Our plans are to make it a yearly trip to the museum. Not sure about going? PLEASE do not pass this up! Great displays with great hosts! We WILL be back! Thank You!!!!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    32
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorr MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

A museum that not only has many great displays but continues to grow each year. The museum also has many special events through out the year and some Wednesday cruise nights.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Can't Afford to Miss This One!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Gilmore Museum is absolutely guaranteed to satisfy your search for a look at beautiful cars, and as a bonus offer a unique and relaxing setting. The displays and the quality, rarity, and significance of the cars is not exceeded by any other museum in the country. I have known many a reluctant spouse who didn't care anything about "old cars" but was won over after a short time here. The folks at the museum have pulled out the stops in the past few years to offer everything a visitor could want; 1st class eating possibilities, a great gift shop, and special event opportunities to boot. The special exhibits are state of the art and the resident collection is rotated frequently. Only one caveat to offer - this is not a quick stop; there's too much to see! There is no better car museum in the country.

Visited November 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our trip to gilmore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

great place to visit we have been to all car museums this is at the top as our favorite ones i hope to go back again i told a lot of friends about it

Visited December 2012
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank 77pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
“One of the best car museums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've been interested in horseless carriages, antique and classic cars for more than 50 years. The Gilmore Car Museum brings them all together in one easily accessible and beautiful location. I saw cars here that I'd only read about and seen pictures of--especially in the pre-1910 collection. I especially liked the single-marque museums--Pierce Arrow and Franklin--but the whole collection is a fantastic lesson in history, sociology, design, fashion, and American life. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The buildings themselves--the barns--are wonderful. And the way the cars are displayed allows you to see each one pretty much in its totality--unlike the old Harrah's Collection in Reno that just lined up hundreds of fabulous cars, or the Blackhawk Museum in Danville, CA, that displays cars like jewels on velvet pads. The Gilmore is top-notch for the variety of cars, the quality of the exhibition, and the venue itself.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilmore Car Museum also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Hickory Corners, Barry County
 
Hickory Corners, Barry County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Gilmore Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing