We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top automotive museums in the country!”
Review of Gilmore Car Museum

Gilmore Car Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ever expanding Gilmore Car Museum, hailed as one of the Top Five car museums in the nation, features over nearly extraordinary cars and motorcycles from all eras. The Automotive Heritage Center (about 150 vehicles) is Open daily year-round. The outdoor park-like campus of historic buildings (including 1930s gas station, working 1940s diner and several exhibit sturctures)are open April - Novemember.Museum exhibits range from cars of the 1890s to the classic Duesenberg, the elusive 1948 Tucker, to the muscle cars of the ‘60s and ‘70s. Located just off M-43 at Hickory Road near Hickory Corners (20 minutes northeast of Kalamazoo, MI)
Raleigh NC
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“One of the top automotive museums in the country!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Incredible place that is difficult to describe! It is a campus full of cars and automotive memorabilia, located in the middle of a large field! The cars are simply fabulous; rooms and rooms of cars, many organized by manufacturer. And their are buildings dedicated to particular car manufacturers, again rooms and rooms of classic cars. There is a collection of hood ornaments, and other auto history trivia stuff. There's a replica Shell gas station....a tribute to the days where you could get your car worked on at the local gas station. There is a real dinner (George and Sally's) that is a great photostop. Even the gift shop if top notch. We have been to car museums and collections across the country, but this one is "over the top." Allow half a day if you want to see everything, and longer if you are a car buff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakeIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    33
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“top Notch Car museum”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My second visit here. They added the main building and the Ford Model A building and the Franklin collection. Nice collection of 30's american vintage classic cars. Cars from this era were really works of art. Yes it is out in the middle of a bunch of farms, but is worth the drive. I didn't get to get a frozen custard at the diner, we were in a rush. Definately a place you don't want to rush through if you love cars and history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but well worth the trip”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We made the trip across Mighigan to visit this museum and boy are we glad we did. We spent the entire day going from building to building looking at the cars of the past. There were cars we all know, to cars the four of us had never heard of, in all their glory. We decided to go during the week and basically had the place to ourselves and take all the time we needed at each display. There were cars restored, cars in orginal condition and even a few in the condition they were found. A very enjoyable day of viewing huge chrome radiators, bumpers and enormous headlights of yesterdays automobiles. They keep both the grounds and buildings very well maintained and the staff were eager to spend the time answering questions and explaining all about the cars. Also a stop at the diner is a must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiml48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“America's Signature Car Collection”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

EVERYTHING in this collection is impressive. The attention, and detail provides an experience like no other museum we've ever seen. This is a 90 acre historic experience on a 2 lane country road second to none! You won't forget it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank skylady158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Off the beaten path, but worth it! Many cars. The new Ford Model A museum is worth the trip and price without the balance of the museum!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilmore Car Museum also viewed

Portage, Kalamazoo County
Hickory Corners, Barry County
 
Hickory Corners, Barry County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Gilmore Car Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing