We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the owner is crazy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hessel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hessel
Reviewed December 15, 2013

this place is way over priced the cabins and motel are cobbled together the owner is very rude they need to have there electrical inspected the hot water never works this resort should be condemned a really shabby place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I stayed at lakeview three times in 2013. I will not stay anywhere eles when im in hessel. The places are very clean and very affordable. Paula is very nice and alot of fun to be around. Fishing is always great. Always have a nice place to dock my boat. I will be back at least three in 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family has been renting from Paula for over 20 years! My husband and kids have rented from Paula for ten and will continue to come back. The resort is always in great shape due to Paula's hard work! We love seeing what is done each year we come back. The little beach area is next to the resort for the kids & the town is quaint with a small grocery, restaurant, marina, book store & of course the local bar.
The pricing is very reasonable for a family! The kids love swimming, fishing, boating; while the parents love the golf and casino nearby.
You need to bring your own towels and paper towel & toilet paper, but each cabin has a full kitchen & a TV w/ satellite channels, but you won't watch much TV. You will enjoy sitting out & enjoy watching the world go by with a beer in hand!
See you soon Paula!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stopped for one night in the motel part and fell in love with the area, and this will be our third year renting a cottage. Paula (owner) has been great making sure that our stay has been enjoyable. We enjoy using the boat to check out the neat little coves. The corner store has Wifi so you can grab breakfast or just a coffee & check your mail. Its the type of place that you love to keep quite about, but that wouldn't be fair to Paula as she works her butt off! A few of the cottages are older than the Motel and the newer cottages but they are very clean! There are a couple of places that you can just walk to for lunch or dinner, others a short drive on the main highway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We only stayed one night but met families (three generations) that have been coming here for over 35 years. Great location for hanging out with family, swimming, fishing and boating. Accommodations are about as basic as they come and are priced accordingly. The owner is a hoot. She actually asked if we would need towels and toilet paper. A perfect place for an affordable family vacation but if you are looking for just an overnight stay on the road in a nicer cabin or room with a much more comfortable bed I'd suggest the River Bend Resort further to the east in Detour Village.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank buffalo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeview Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel & Cottages

Address: 3078 Lake St, PO Box 277, Hessel, MI 49745-9801
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Hessel
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hessel
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing