We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Nice Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hart
Oregon, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location - Nice Pool”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

If you are looking for a wonderful indoor pool - you've found it here. I was impressed with how clean the pool was and that they actually had an area with tables so you could eat or read while other family members were swimming. I had the room with the whirlpool tub. It was nice, but on the loud side. The furniture in the room was in need of being replaced and looked as if it was purchased at a yard sale. I only say this because of the room rates - I would expect nicer furniture. The hotel was in a good location from Mears, Ludington, and Shelby. You definitely have to go to Mac Wood's Sand Dune Ride - Country Dairy - and eat at the Golden Inn (good food/homemade chips) as well as try the breadsticks at Sparky's Pizza across from the Walmart in Ludington. I rated this hotel as VERY GOOD because of the location (right off the expressway) and pool - despite my pickiness on the furniture - I would stay here again - it was quiet and they are pet friendly!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knoxville_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
10
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Great Hotel. Was a fantastic place to stay to visit the Silver Lake Sand Dunes, Pentwater for the Charles Mears State Park Beach (beach is awesome), and Ludington.

The pool area is a real treat and great for kids and adults. The pool area offers a sauna and hot tub and a great size pool for little and big kids/adults. The rooms were nice. Our king bed was comfortable and my hubby and I both enjoyed the lazy boy chair. We traveled with a small baby and our daughter had no problem sleeping in the playpen they provided. Hotel staff was very nice.

The hotel was booked on our Labor Day Weekend stay. I mention this because it surprised me that our room wasn't cleaned while we were out Saturday morning. With a small cleaning staff they clean the rooms that checked out first then attend to the occupied ones after. They offered to clean our room later that afternoon but we just opted to stock up on the towels instead.

We didn't have a fridge in our room but the hotel let me use an employee fridge. Great continental breakfast--the wafflemaker made it a hit. It was light on healthly food but did provide some good healthly choices with cereal, hardboiled eggs, and fruit basket.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Stayed two nights at the Comfort Inn in June 2008.

Room was a good size, and well kept. Only problem with the room was that the coffee, cups and soap/shampoo were not replenished on our second day.

Hotel is also well located for the Hart-Montague cycle trail -- trail runs right behind the hotel property.

(Booked online at the hotel website and paid $99 per night -- not sure why, but they also charge $10 for double occupancy ?)

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hart hotels

East Lansing, MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I traveled to this hotel with a group and we were greeted promptly with keys, no delay getting into our rooms. This is usually a big ordeal and the Comfort Inn made it super easy.

The beds were REALLY comfortable with clean sheets and new comforters. The windows could open all the way and our room overlooked a grassy area in the back and we awoke to birds singing. I would suggest asking for a room in the back of the hotel.

The pool and pool deck were much bigger and nicer than the kind you normally see in a hotel like a Comfort Inn. There was even an area where you could eat while watching the swimmers.

The breakfast was good AND the coffee was MUCH better than the type you usually find on a complimentary buffet like this. There were also single-serving coffee pots in the room but I didn't bother because there was coffee in the breakfast area when we arrived that afternoon.

The staff was competent and helpful.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELHappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

This was the best motel we have stayed at in a long time. It was quiet, exceptionally clean, fantastic breakfast, and a wonderful staff.

  • Liked — quiet and a good bed
  • Disliked — nothing=everything was good
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfossaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing,mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Very affordable hotel that is minits from everything. Clean comfortable rooms great staff nice clean pool and breakfast room.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sadiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hart
5.4 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
433 reviews
18.9 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Express Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Express Inn & Suites

Property: Dunes Express Inn & Suites
Address: 2248 N Comfort Dr, Hart, MI 49420-8155 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Hart
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunes Express Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Express Inn & Suites, formerly the Comfort Inn of Hart, offers a quiet getaway located in a scenic area. The marble and oak lobby offers a cozy conversation/television area. With sixty-one rooms, including whirlpool rooms, there are accommodations to meet every travelers needs. The hotel also features a large indoor pool area with hot tub. For your convenience, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast is served daily. Tanning beds are available twenty-four hours a day for a nominal fee. A twenty-two mile paved hiking/bicycle trail is adjacent to the hotel. Silver Lake Sand Dunes are seven miles to the west. Free Wi-Fi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Express Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hart
Hart Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing