We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip”

Silver Lake Sand Dunes
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Hart
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a state park along the coast of Lake Michigan located near Mears, Michigan. It includes shoreline along Lake Michigan and Silver Lake, along with many sand dunes.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Beach at Lighthouse Point was beautiful and relaxing. Tour with Mac Dunes was fun, like being on a roller coaster ride.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dehlia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    37
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Impressive sand dunes”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have visited the dunes at Illinois Beach State Park, the Indiana Dunes State Park and the state parks at Saugatuck Dunes and Warren Dunes State Park in Michigan. Silver Lake sand dunes were by far the tallest and most expansive of all the dunes we have visited around Lake Michigan. It faces Lake Michigan to the west and Silver Lake lies on the opposite side. Oak forests lie to the north and south. Off-road vehicles are permitted to roam the northern portion of the dunes. Visitors can explore the middle portion by foot (the "walking dunes") or explore the southern portion on a dune ride. Further south lies the 107-foot tall Little Sable Point lighthouse.

We visited the latter first. A fairly short climb up the dunes by the lighthouse gave us a great view of the expanse of beach and Lake Michigan beyond. We did not climb the lighthouse but I am sure there would have been a great view of the large dunes to the north from up there. The parking lot by the lighthouse is managed by the state and there was a parking fee. We kept the tag on the inside of the windshield.

We drove north along Silver Lake Road to North Shore Drive. The road ended at the base of the massive sand dunes where lots of cars were parked - illegally - as their owners scrambled up the steep wall of sand. Just before this, to the right, is a road to an official parking lot where our parking was free; our fee at Sable Point also included parking at this site.

There is a staircase from the parking lot that helps with the climb. As you emerge from the the edge of the forest you see an expanse of sand. You cannot see Lake Michigan which is somewhere in front of you beyond the sand. Silver Lake, somewhere to your left, is also hidden behind the dunes.

Eventually, as we kept walking we caught glimpses of Silver Lake between the dunes. We heard then saw the different off-road vehicles charging up and down the dunes to our right. Everyone was dwarfed by these virtual mountains of fine sand. Some kids were having fun rolling down the sides of the dunes. We wandered over to look at Silver Lake. Lake Michigan was a bit farther away and too far to walk to in the little time we had left. At one point we simply sat on the sand and soaked up the great views all around us.

There is certainly a lot to do here and we barely scratched the surface with our visit. We spent just a short afternoon here but will certainly visit and spend more time if we are in the area again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ImmerWandern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had a wonderful experience here and I HIGHLY recommend it for anyone who is interested. I rented a dune buggy and had a blast. I rented from Sliver Lake Buggy Rentals because they were the most honest company and the friendliest that I had researched and they proved to be wonderful. If you decide to rent a dune buggy or ATV, I highly recommend them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Zeppi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Visited the dunes for the first time this year. Words (nor pictures) can describe how much fun it was. Need MI recreational passport, ORV license (purchased at gate interest), and an orange marker flag (sold at various stores in the area). There is a beach within the dunes which is awesome!! GREAT place to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lmb814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sand Dune Fun in Midwest”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Silver Lake State Park Sand Dunes is the only dunes in the Midwest that allow dune buggies and other four-wheel drive vehicles to ride on. It also has a very nice camping ground. The dunes are vast with park rangers providing over site and next to Lake Michigan. Silver Lake which is right there as well has a nice sandy bottom where one can walk out a great distance in shallow water.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioBrutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Lake Sand Dunes also viewed

 
New Era, Oceana County
 

Been to Silver Lake Sand Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing