We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends at the cottage”
Review of American Host Inn

American Host Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Host Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hart B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had some extra guests at the summer place and decided to move out and let them enjoy. It was our first stay and didn't know what to expect, Don & Jan exceeded our expectations as great hosts. Their friendly attitude and interest in making our stay great really made the inconvenience a wonderful time. We've visited the area every year since we were married, a longer time than I want to admit, I would gladly stay again and offer the Inn to guests. They really care.

Room Tip: Make the reservation early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our overnight stay was great! The beds were very comfortable, nice bedding, clean room. Our room had a recliner in it which made it even better since my husband sleeps in his recliner at home. I do not know if all rooms have recliners but every room I looked in on our way out had one. Yes, there are signs around reminding you to be polite but that is perhaps a sign of our times. People just aren't as thoughtful it seems anymore. We personally like to be able to sleep peacefully in our paid room...not listening to loud conversation, TV's, parties down the hall. Don, the manager, went out of his way to help with luggage, get the air set for us, anything we needed. He had bikes to rent and a bike trail behind the hotel. There wasn't a pool or even a light breakfast offered there but we rarely make use of either anyway. There was a coffeepot and coffee in the room and a small fridge. We ate at the '60's restaurant across the parking lot which was okay. It felt cramped and somewhat disorganized. Food was good enough but service was SLOW!

Room Tip: This hotel is close to 31 but far enough to not hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Two night stay in mid-July(2012). Very good value compared to Silver Lake rates(half or less?) and only an 8-10 minute drive away. Also much better and cheaper breakfast available in Hart(place in town on the left(?) better than the one next door which is OK.
Host couple very friendly and service oriented. Rooms ample, quite clean and towels plushy!(no, we didn't take one)
Full-house, parking a little tight. Very good gas/convenience store/quick food, back over 27 on right, on way to Silver Lake. Didn't get eat at restaurant next door to Gas/Conven. but told it is very good.
If you are here and don't have a Burger at Brown Bear in Pentwater or Ice Cream(AppleDumpling ala mode) at Country Dairy(New Era) why the heck did you come?
We will definately stay at this property again!

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor close to doors but that's just me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is okay. Period. The rooms were clean, but very plain and bland. They seemed like the most cheaply built and furnished rooms of any hotel I have ever stayed in. There was a mini fridge as stated, but it is very small and good for a few cans of pop but not too much else. There are a few oddities such as unwrapped McDonald's coffee cups for the rooms cups (strange), white towels but older, frayed red washcloths (I will not use a hotel washcloth that hasn't been bleached-yuck), and a toilet plunger sitting on a towel between the toilet and sink (kind of gross!), and at least two plug-in room freshners that made the room smell weird. We had to unplug the one in the wall because it gave my son a headache. The one hidden on the floor under the head of the bed (and discovered when retrieving a superball) we couldn't do much about. I personally would prefer to walk into a hotel room that just smells clean rather than covered up.

I had read previous reviews regarding the atmosphere of this hotel, but it didn't mean too much until we were actually there. My kids did not like this hotel primarily because of the atmosphere~ there are signs posted asking you to be quiet and tip toe up and down the stairs. There are signs posted regarding quiet time, which seems unusally long considering people are traveling and may need to get up and get going early in the morning. The signs tell guests to report infractions of quiet time. There was also something about the owners calling the police about smoking in the room and the extra fee (I think), and something about the owners reserving the right to inspect rooms to make sure extra guests are not in the room as well as their signs about the ice machine and purchasing ice. I don't know, but we just did not feel comfortable here. We felt like we were under surveillance. The kids were worried about having the TV too loud in the evening or having it on too late because our room neighbor (a senior citizen as were many of the guests) might report us. We felt like we had to sneak to get ice for our stuff that didn't fit into the fridge. Not a welcoming or comfortable atmosphere for a paying hotel guest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank acadia3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at this property based upon other TripAdvisor reviews. I was pleasantly pleased. Being a Mom-and-Pop run property, there are certain quirks that you may want to know about: First, there is a charge of $35 to make a room reservation. It is non-refundable, but is applied to your bill. And, they expect you to pay for your entire stay up front during the check in process.

The room was neat and clean. The commode was sporting one of those "Sanitized for your Protection" ribbons - something I hadn't seen in years. Air conditioning worked properly; there was a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator in the room. I would suggest you bring your own shampoo and bath soap as the ones provided were very very small and of dubious quality. The towels were very fluffy.

In the room is a sign telling all that the quiet hours were 11PM to 8AM - and I must confess the place was quiet. A restaurant of good quality is across the parking lot and open 7 days a week. Definitely worth the price (they have a sign out front proclaiming no price increase for five years). Would I stay there again? You bet.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have heavy luggage or trouble climbing stairs, get the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-heart-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Recently I was in Michigan and stayed at the American Host Inn for one night and it was lovely. The website made me think twice and I was so afraid that this was going to be a run-down, roach-infested hotel. Luckily, it was just the opposite! The owners were extremely nice and although they were strict about no smoking and no pets, the stay was wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was a microwave as well as a brand-new mini fridge. The room was clean and cozy. I specifically enjoyed how small and personal the experience was. I only wish that I was able to stay longer. It was great! And the location was wonderful too! There's a few stores and restaurants nearby as well as two gas stations. And not far down the road there is the Silver Lake State Park area where you can rent an ORV to ride the dunes.

Room Tip: There are only two floors and if you need service 24/7 or like large, fancy places then you will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeppi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We interacted with both owners, Don and Dar, and they were incredible warm and friendly people. To be sure, we we're blown away when we saw it. There is nothing that stands out about it from the outside but American Host provides everything you'll need. It's location is about 10 minutes from the Silver Lake Sand Dunes and only a couple minutes from Hart. A solid 50's style diner is right outside the front door. In our room there was a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. This doesn't have a 'chain' feel to it because you can see how much the owners want to make your stay comfortable. Great prices.

Room Tip: We were on the lower floor and could hear people walking around in the second floor a couple of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hart hotels
0.2 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hart House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Host Inn

Address: 4143 W Polk Rd, Hart, MI 49420-8379
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Hart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hart
Price Range: $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Host Inn is located in Hart, MI just a few miles from west Michigan's famous Silver Lake Sand Dunes. We are a family owned and operated Inn with the goal to provide a clean and comfortable night sleep. We have received the Award of Excellence six years in a row. We are conveniently located east of US-31 at Exit 149. There is a family restaurant located next to our Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing