We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and reasonable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfort and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

In what seemed to be the middle of nowhere is the Island Casino. We were heading north out of Escanaba and there appeared this large casino resort so we had to stop. Pleasantly surprised. The room rates where reasonable considering it was around a holiday weekend. The casino was clean and large and the food was great. This is a planned location to visit but you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Reasonable rates for a resort casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    88
    39
    10
    18
See reviews for
41
103
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
400 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed one week at this Indian resort while working at a nearby business, the first time I have stayed at an Indian casino hotel in 25 years. As with most casinos, pricing was very reasonable. However, the total experience was a bit disappointing. The bed and pillows were only moderately comfortable. The room was rather plain, even though I stayed in the newer tower, with the window view being of the casino roof and a large air conditioner. There was no vanity mirror in the bathroom, and the lights over the dressing table quite dim, unacceptable for women applying makeup. When I called ahead of my arrival to ask about room amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave range, I was informed that these were not present in the rooms. I also asked if a complimentary breakfast was provided, and was told that it was not, even though I learned after checking in that each day of my stay I was provided with a $5 coupon to apply against any meal charge. As I uniformly do on my first night at any hotel, I asked for a wake-up call for the next morning in the event that the clock radio alarm did not function. However, I never received the requested wake-up call. While a cable channel lineup was present in the room, there was no guest guide book listing hotel amenities and restaurants. The indoor pool was very nice, but the adjacent fitness room was a tiny room containing only a treadmill, a stepmaster, and an exercise bicycle. There were no free weights or weight machines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Sayed at Island Resort last week while attending a convention held the resort.

Amenities: The Island Resort has a hotel with indoor pool, several restaurants, a casino with slots and tables, a show lounge, a golf course and a convention center.

The convention center: The convention center was recently upgraded. I like the new brighter
convention center with larger doors and multiple meeting rooms. We had a combination off sit down means and buffets and the resort handled the volume of people well.

The hotel: They have different rooms at different price points. I paid a little extra for a executive sweet. Overnight stay included $5 vouchers for meals, $5 for beverage and $5 for the casino. At $129.71 after tax for a two room suite the rooms are a real value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Husband is from Escanaba so we like to pop up there every couple of years to see relatives. We stay at the casino and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The casino has nice wide aisles for us seniors with walkers and a good selection of machines. I don't like the smoking but it's not too bad. I just play penny machines but walked away almost $600 ahead after playing Tueday night and Wednesday morning and night. Looking forward to going back up in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Handicapped seniors should ask for the tower closer to the lobby so they don't have to walk thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aretta_Schils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spent the last weekend of March at the Island. The assigned room in the Tower was nice and clean. The area that is need of updating is the pool and hot tub area. The hot tub jets don't have the pressure that a hot tub should. This area also needs some supervision as when children are loud, the noise just echo's and you can't relax in the hot tub. If your going to enjoy the hot tub and pool area, you not. The resturant was very good and is very reasonably priced. They have an AARP discount, but don't allow any discount for acitve or retired military.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, WI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been going to the Island Resort and Casino for several years now with a large group on a tour bus from the Milwaukee area. Each year I think that sooner or later they have to update the rooms. Nope! Still have the huge TV's, horrible mattresses, and crummy pillows. Most everyone I talked to on the bus said the same thing, their backs were sore after sleeping (or trying to sleep) on the crummy mattresses! Is this a ploy to keep us awake to spend more in the casino? Please management, update these rooms! At least invest in better mattresses that don't kill our backs!

Room Tip: Bring your own mattress!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebRFranksville_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love the Island for concerts! The venue is small and there is not a bad seat in the whole place. You feel like you can grab the hands of the acts when you're in the very back row. Pretty cheap drinks and I've won some money there a time or two as well. The fast food place they have there is not bad either. It's very resonably priced too. Would recommend a stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank WiscoTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
13.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
12.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Property: Island Resort & Casino
Address: W399 US2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing