We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Colorful Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Resort & Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Colorful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of my first bus trip from Wisconsin to this wonderful Resort & Casino. Fall is a most colorful time of the year to visit ..Michigan has so much color ...I loved the comfy Queen beds with soft sheets in my room ..which was very clean and quiet ....bathrooms have hot easy to use showers and plenty soft white towels....big mirrors ..coffee in room..oh yes nice atmosphere in the casino great package for my overnight stay ....fun time ..great restaurants ..great food ..the pool room was fabulous with a soothing whirlpool to boot!! I will definately come back ..Thank you for the hospitality !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    86
    36
    10
    17
See reviews for
39
101
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We travel to the casino for their concerts and are pleasantly thrilled with the room and the entertainment the casino provides. We even take our children who are 11 and 13 and they enjoy the pool area and the restaurants the casino has. It's a one stop place for fun and a perfect place to go to for a short get away! We have never had any trouble with an unacceptable room or unacceptable service. I think it's great they have a smoke free section for the non smokers in the casino as well as a smoker section for those of us who smoke! They seem to provide everything for everyone. I am very happy with staying here as often as we can get away.

Room Tip: we stayed on the south side and it was very quiet but easier for the kids to get to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River Alaska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here more than a few times and are always impressed with the rooms, the staff and the food. Great. Casino package for overnight guests too. Love the larger smoke free area and. Maybe one day it will all be smoke free, hey a girl can hope!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GOVYKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I, and immediate family, have targeted this establishment for family bonding on many occasions. We love it!

Not once have we encountered an unacceptable room and one time the generous desk clerk upgraded us to a suite without us even asking us for it. Having said that, the room reservations system is a frustrating mystery. There's no online booking system, common for a casino property, and even though we may try as long as 3 months in advance, our goal of reserving a room in the Palm Tower is usually met with - the Tower is booked. This is a newly-renovated addition to the property which is ten times the value of their Sun Tower original building accommodations.

Here's the tip. The clerk will always tell you that they cannot guarantee the Palm Tower but we always call back within a week of the res date and 9 times out of 10 they will tell you there are rooms available in the Palm Tower (caution: weekends you will not have this flexibility!). After years of following this procedure, we have concluded that rooms in the Palm Tower are automatically reserved for the charter bus people and within a week prior to your reservation date they will release all remaining rooms. The hypocrisy to this whole illogical scenaro is that the clerk will never tell you they have a location guaranteed yet how is it they tell you 3 months in advance the rooms in the Palm Tower are booked? Priority clearly goes to the charter outfits because the Palm Tower has bus loading/unloading right outside the Tower's front doors...meaning the bus patrons don't have to walk across the casino floor to load up for Sun Tower guests! Not fair but their bus people are their bread and butter.

Moving on, the property's restaurant is excellent and I don't hesitate to always order the fish fry dinner every time we visit. They give you more than enough to fill your face and with the salad bar ... nothing better than this dinner! Other family members have ordered other selections and they have never been disappointed. Good service and delicious food always makes this a perfect evening for all!

I am not a professional vacation writer but when I'm inspired then it's easy to write a review. This establishment is not Las Vegas but it's entirely appropriate for its remote Upper Michigan surroundings. It's a haul to drive there but if you like casino games (and top notch entertainment) with good food...please stop here.

Gambling tip: almost every night when there is not entertainment, the place empties out around 9 pm when the last of the local charter buses leave. Plenty of slots and table opportunties after 9 pm.

To the Tripadvisor admin people ... this is no longer owned by the person who called it Chips In. That owner sold the property at least 3+ years ago and no longer uses the Chips In name but rather ... Island Casino is its current name. Please make that change and eliminate "Chips In"!

Room Tip: Go for the Palm Tower...newer and better views. They will tell you that they cannot guarantee you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packerfan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark,Delaware
Level Contributor
268 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

It was a great Oasis in the middle of nowhere. We had a big spacious, clean room. The beds were firm and comfortable. We loved the gaming package that came with our room. We stayed one night and received $5.00 each to play in the slot machines, a free drink each and $5.00 food voucher that could be spent at any one of their 3 restaurants. We chose their formal dining and you could go in whatever you were wearing and be served. The only down side was that they let people smoke in the casino so when you enter the building you are hit with the smoke. My suggestion is to make it smoke free. This way you won't case the non-smokers out. We left after we used up our $5.00 because of the smoke in our face. Non-smokers have $3,000 to $5,000 more dollars to spend than smokers as we are not buying cigarettes. Owners of casinos should think about that. Plus our health insurance probably costs us less. We did also enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meeta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,Mi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Not impressed with this Casino Resort. It is Bland in every aspect. The room was clean and adequate but not much else. The staff was friendly and services good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZigZagMarion_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a great time here. Kind of in the middle of no where but is nice to get away to. Casino is clean and fun and there is free soda. Mostly played blackjack and Pretty good dealers. Nice little resturaunt open late but pretty slow. Tables close at 2:30 though. Pool is nice but chlorine level kind of high. Price of room was good and it is nice, but basically was chased out of the room because we were there a little after checkout so i was not happy about that at all. Also, the room numbers are kind of confusing.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmoris821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harris
12.5 mi away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
13.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Escanaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#10 of 10 in Escanaba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
12.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Escanaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Resort & Casino

Property: Island Resort & Casino
Address: W399 US2 & 41, Harris, MI 49845
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amenities * Casino open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week. * Guests 18 and older are welcome to gamble. * All times are Eastern Standard Time. * All promotions and prices subject to change at management's discretion. * VIP Services - contact Island Club * Bell service * In-room coffee makers and hair dryers * Irons and boards available, contact front desk * For your convenience, our hotel has a refrigerator for insulin storage * Roll-a-ways and cribs, contact front desk, nominal fee * Cable TV * $.50 access charge per phone call, deposit required Sorry, no pets allowed unless medically necessary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chips In Island Hotel Harris
Chips In Island Resort And Casino
Chip Ins Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing