We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and clean - but beds could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Of Harbor Springs
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice and clean - but beds could be better”
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 friends during a snowboarding trip. The room was very nice, very clean and we enjoyed the pool and hottub nightly. You do have to walk outside to get to them which isn't too fun when it's 20 degrees out, but it's worth it once you get there. Continental breakfast in the morning is very good - bagels, donuts, hard boiled eggs, english muffins, oatmeal, cereal, waffles with syrup, OJ, milk.
I know a lot of people probably stay here during a skiing or snowboarding trip. You all know how sore you can be after a day full of those activities. The beds and pillows were HORRIBLE - none of us really slept well for the 3 nights and it doesn't help when your body is already aching.
Still, I would recommend this hotel to a friend because of its amenities and cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelvixenlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Lora E, General Manager at Best Western Of Harbor Springs, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
As of the Fall of 2011, we have replaced all mattresses with new "pillowtop" mattresses. Our customer feedback has been very positive about them. They have been a nice addition.
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    97
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
183
179
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed her for my mother-in-law's 55th high school reunion. It was very close to Petoskey and more reasonably priced than other area hotels. The pool and hot top were nice. Large hot tub. The pool is inside, but it ran on the cold side. The breakfast was good--waffles, boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, and cereal. The rooms were clean--a little dated, but nice. The rooms are all ground level and open to the parking lot. This was very handy with my mother-in-law who has a hard time with walking and stairs. It was also easy to bring in and out suitcases. Overall, I would return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olsenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foodie in Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Outstanding family operated motel between Harbor springs and Petoskey. Very clean rooms with nice pool and hot tub. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epicurian46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Seriously, this place is the best. I travel a lot for business and so far this is the best I have seen. Family atmosphere. Willing to go above and beyond to make sure you are happy. Indoor pool, hot tub, laundry, work out room, vending machines, and internet. I stayed in room 139 which had wired internet! base 100! Bring a LAN cable and good to go. They also have wireless, but who needs that when you can have wired and much faster. Very quiet in November, I am sure gets pretty busy in the summer and mid winter with the skiers. Just make sure when reserving that you ask for a room with internet. Don't give your self a headache save time and book here. I am glad I did.

  • Liked — wired internet
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank whittaker1Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

First of all, this hotel was very clean and the management was very friendly. It's newer, and well kept. No problems there. Our concerns were twofold. First of all, this hotel is not in Harbor Springs proper, and you still have about a four to five mile drive down the road to get into Harbor Springs - it's not within walking distance.

Our biggest concern was the noise factor. When they built this hotel, they did not insulate the walls very well. Our first night we were in a room which was an adjoining room with a door. We didn't know the family that stayed next to us. They had a small child, and we could hear every word of every conversation. And children tend to be loud, so it was pretty upsetting. We complained to management in the a.m., and they were very friendly and moved us to an end room. The sound factor was somewhat better without the adjoining door, but once again, in the a.m., we could hear the conversations of the people in the room next to us - an older couple. For that reason, and that reason alone, we would not opt to stay there again. We're big on peace and quiet and they simply didn't soundproof these rooms enough for our liking.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Noise transmitted too easily
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kim1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
3.2 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
115 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
452 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Petoskey
193 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
688 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Harbor Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Harbor Springs

Property: Best Western Of Harbor Springs
Address: 8514 Hwy M-119, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Harbor Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Harbor Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harbor Springs
Harbor Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing