We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks”
Review of Bar Harbor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bar Harbor
Cuisines: American, Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Indian River, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thanks”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Didnt really feel to comfortable here, drinks were weak and I really didn't like the what do you want attitude of the bartender

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aloha387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    28
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Mainstay in Harbor Springs ... it is what it is ...”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Bar Harbor has been doing business on the same corner, overlooking the Harbor Springs City Docks and Harbor Springs end of Little Traverse Bay for as long as I have been going to Harbor Springs ... and that is a long time ... since the 60's. A cantankerous owner, staff who know the deal, and the feel of "No Soup For You!" ... O.K. ... I'm kidding about that. Nice views from the booths and menu selections that you would expect ... all cooked from a small grille/galley type spot behind the bar. On this corner there are three restaurants ... The Pier (upscale/clublike), New York Cafe (upscale/Grosse Pointey), and Bar Harbor (bar food/tatoos ... again, just kidding). If you are looking for Bleu Cheese stuffed olives for your Grey Goose on the rocks ... go somewhere else. All that being said, this place fills a certain need when a burger and a beer strike you as necessary ... and there is something to be said for longevity.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pretty darn good burgers”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

sure they're pricey, but heck you're in Harbor Springs....really good quality burgers ...enjoy

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere; great location”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Located near the waterfront with great views of the bay. I consider this a good burger bar; my bacon burger was cooked well. The pickles and onions were fresh cut and the buns were fresh too. Both of us that had burgers felt the same way. The pulled pork sandwich was good as well; I recommend the bourbon bbq sauce on that sandwich. I can't vouch for the rest of the menu yet but I would revisit for another try. Only downside is the prices were toward the high side for all drinks and a portion of the food menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shinjin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great olive burger, bad attitude”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

My in-laws live in Good Hart and have for years. They used to enjoy going to the "Harbor Bar" aka Bar Harbor. My husband and I looked forward to going there inJjuly for the Olive Burger and instead we were met with a bored and complacent attitude from our waitress and the bartender. When we asked them a question about a liquor price, they rolled their eyes and walked away. When my father-in-law asked for a "house" Merlot with dinner they brought him a glass of wine. When we got the bill, the "house" Merlot was priced at a more "premium" price rather than a "house" price. We questioned the waitress and were again met with annoyance and a roll of the eyes. Then she told us that they did have a house Merlot!
So, our opinion is that the burgers are good but not good enough to be treated with contempt and disrespect. Also, there is no competition do don't expect any changes. If you choose to try this place out for dinner just remember, that you get what you get, don't ask questions, and bring plenty of cash.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor also viewed

Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 

Been to Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing