We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Traverse Bay Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Traverse Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Well known by locals, this gem has a fantastic view of Little Traverse Bay, offers well prepared entre'es such as Chicken Morel, Walleye Grenoble, Grilled Salmon with fennel.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have dined here a couple of times with a group of friends. Not all restaurants handle a group well; this one does. The service has always been good. The food is also very good. Everyone raves about the planked whitefish with duchess potatoes and baked tomatoes. Well, I finally ordered it instead of my usual lake perch, and it wasn't as good as I expected. The tomatoes, however, were excellent. I will stick with the lake perch...theirs is excellent!

On a clear day or evening, the view is absolutely wonderful. It is worth stopping by even if you are not a golfer or not dining...maybe stop for a drink!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgood4626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
1 review
“planned whitefish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

whitefish served with duchess potatoes and baked tomatoes (on wooden plank) was excellent. View overlooking lake Michigan was breath-taking. Facility and service was unmatched anywhere. Did not partake in wine but list was extensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tres3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were in the area for the month of August, and tried a lot of restaurants. This was our favorite...good food, fabulous view of the bay, and good service. We also played golf here twice and recommend it. There are some spectacular holes...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hillcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“View great ~~ food awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's a golf course on a hill with nice view of Lake Michigan. During a recent vacation in the area, we had lunch on the restaurant patio. It was hot & no umbrellas, but we wanted the view. Lunch may have been the worst restaurant food ever. I had a BLT -- the bacon was raw;not "undercooked" but raw!! Not even warm. They did cook it some, but I could only eat a few bites. Bacon was flavorless, lettuce was one leaf that looked wilted and rotten. The manager did take the cost off our bill, but we paid for my husband's lunch which wasn't much better. His chicken salad sandwich wasn't very tasty. And, I've never seen French Onion soup served with a few crumbs of shredded cheese, not even melted. A VERY disappointing experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Views, and the Food is Pretty Good Too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

You go here for the views, period. Impressive views across Little Traverse Bay, over to Round Lake, Crooked Lake, and Pickerel Lake. Stop in for a drink, lunch, or dinner as the views make any beverage or meal that much better. The food is rock solid, i.e. very good, but not spectacular. That said I would be very tempted to trade an evening at Charlie Trotters or the French Laundry for a meal during sunset on the patio at LTB. I will leave the food comments to other reviewers, but suggest you find your way here for any amount of time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlackPearl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Traverse Bay Restaurant also viewed

Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
Harbor Springs, Emmet County
 

Been to Little Traverse Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing