We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Alpine Village Condos - Nice Condos but not all Ski-In/Ski-Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boyne Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boyne Highlands Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Alpine Village Condos - Nice Condos but not all Ski-In/Ski-Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have a group of guys who take an annual trip skiing for over a decade now. Boyne Highlands, Boyne Mountain and Nubs Nob are the only places in Michigan we'll stay anymore. Alpine Village 4-bedroom condos in the Highlands are big, roomy, and can accommodate a large group or a couple of families sharing. Most owners have decked out the condos to pack in the guests. Purchase the ski package and you can get discounted lift tickets plus hot buffet breakfast in the lodge. Our condo was missing a DVD player and the front desk delivered one to our door.

However, not all Alpine Condos are an easy ski-in/ski-out so beware. Ask for a condo south of the parking lot along Lois Lane, not North Peak Pass. Trust me, you do not want to ski over the parking lot to get to your condo, especially after night skiing ends at 9:00pm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southhaventravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    71
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
74
45
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This was our first ski trip to Boyne Highlands & we've had a really nice time. Do the Express Ski Rental before you go, we avoided a huge rental line by doing Express. The staff here are all fabulous and always go out of their way to help or answer questions and they never make you feel like they are rushed or doing you a favor. The breakfast buffet is fabulous & the omelette chef is top-notch. The hills/slopes are beautiful. The resort is quaint but not particularly high/end which was fine with us. The skiing is good with a variety of difficulty in the slopes. They offer nice complimentary events like horse drawn wagon rides and an outdoor bonfire with S'mores making, complete with a staff person to assemble them for you! Our biggest complaint is the noise - kids running up & down the halls & the noise from the outdoor pool is unbelievable. It is essentially one huge frat party that goes full-tilt until they close it at 11pm. Of course, not knowing to request otherwise, our room, which we paid extra for for a 'view of the slopes', mostly overlooks the pool and thus, the beer-guzzling party goers. Next time, we'll request a room away from the pool. Other than that, we've really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandboxart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

When you drive up to the resort, it looks absolutely perfect. Unfortunately, the interior is in need of a major overhaul. We stayed at Bartely House which is away from the main lodge. If you are coming to ski or play golf, don't care what your room looks like and get a great rate you won't be disappointed. If you are looking for some creature comforts, this is not the place. About the only things Bartley House has going for it are good water pressure, large towels and it's clean. Our sink was stopped up for two days. You have to wonder how they can clean the bathroom with a sink that barey functions.The rooms are dark even with the lights on( all two of them). If the rooms in the main lodge are like the lobby and dining room, they also need updating. It's just plain dingy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The good - Beautiful especially as we were there as the leaves on the trees were changin color. The golf course was really nice. The value of the golf course and the rooms were both very affordable. Lots of family friendly things to do, from zip lines to hiking, etc.

The bad - Difficult to get to. I don't think there are a lot of great ways to get there. Parts of it feel like they have gotten some wear. It seems like the original plan was to sell houses all along the golf course but it seems as though the economy might have slowed that.

Other items of interest - While we were there, there were many bicycle riders so there must be some good places to ride in the area. The weather in late September was pretty good but starting to get a little chillier because you are very far north. The ski slopes were pretty mild, I wouldn't recommend it for a high level ski trip but for a family with little kids, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripFan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I just completed a weekend stay at Boyne Highlands from July 30th - August 1st. For us, the stay was free. My husband won the stay and a golf outing through work. The hotel rooms are a bit dated, but not terrible. They are clean. The linens and towels are soft and clean. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Each staff member was very courteous. The exterior of the hotel is very old world Bavarian. The grounds throughout all of Boyne Highlands are immaculate. We golfed The Moors course; it is beautiful! Great course. We had dinner at the Seminole Pub. Food was tasty there as well. The free chair lift wasn't too exciting, but hey it's free and is a nice view. There is a free shuttle to and from the Casino in Petoskey. It was a nice stay.

I highly recommend spending the afternoon in Harbor Springs. A pricey town but worth visiting. If you are looking for a scrumptious lunch I recommend dinning at The Pier (Stafford's Pier). They offer dining in the back patio overlooking the water. The food is fabulous and the view is terrific.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD-ourtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Had an awesome time. Desipte no snow anywhere but on the hill, the hotel did it's best grooming and moving snow around. Actually, I could not ask for a better ski vacation. We took our lessons in the morning, skiied a few hours more and then in the afternoon everyone at the place enjoyed live entertainment, warm wonderful sunshine and a few drinks on the lawn at the bottom of the hill. Had a great ski instructor Ian S. trying to get me rid of my bad habits. Buffet meals were really good but after a few days everything was starting to taste the same. I miss their theme night meals. Staff was pretty friendly. We had a loft room sutie which was worth the extra cost because we had 2 bathrooms, balcony, fireplace, fridge, 3 tv's and not tripping over our ski stuff or each other. The water park at Boyne Mountain was fun for a few hours and only a 45 min drive away. Worth the price of $25 per person but it was not as big as a Great Wolf water park. Staff there was pretty cranky but one person at the race ride who was friendly and talkative.

All and all I had a blast and can't wait for next year's Canada Week!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank road-trip-stash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We took our entire family- from age 10 to 70! Everyone had a super time;the indoor/outdoor pool in the snow was great! Ice skating, horse back riding-it was alot of fun. Several of the group took the ski lessons-which were very good! Ask for 'Dick" if you need a great lesson. The skiing fantastic! The staff could not have been more helpful and courteous! We stayed for 5 days at the Boyne Highlands Townhouses- not really fancy, but clean and enough space for 8 of us. I would highly recommend this resort for family adventures!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
6.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#3 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 4 in Harbor Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
8.1 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#4 of 15 in Petoskey
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Property: Boyne Highlands Resort
Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byne Highlands has grown to become one of Michigan's premiere all-season resorts and we've taken care to preserve the things that matter. That's why we provide plenty of excitement - from Zipline Adventures to horsedrawn sleigh rides - right alongside exceptional golf, dinner theatre, and countless opportunities for guests to share time together with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing