We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rooms, go somewhere else to eat/drink...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Highlands Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, go somewhere else to eat/drink...”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

My 4th visit to Boyne Highlands. I have never visited durring their core winter season, only late spring/summer.
The Good Stuff: Check in was easy and all employees I encountered were freindly and greeted me with smiles; even the maids...
My king room was huge. Walk in closet. Furnishings all taistful and everything worked in the room. The "Boyne Bed" is great and equal to Westins Hevenly Bed. Divided bathroom with good lighting and counter space. Free coffee and tea throughout the day in the public areas

Area's of Improvement: Pool closes at 9:00pm; needs to be open later. Restaurant and bar/lounge need to be completely redone. A dark, sad and old dinning room and a menu no better than the enviroment. The bar's low, dark ceiling, worn carpet, broken down funishings, lack of moniters, dancing; or for that matter anything to look at makes staying in your room a better option. It sucks with no other place to eat/drink on the property.

I've recently stayed at other mountain resorts including Timberline Lodge Mount Hood and Resort Plaza Park City all with better dinning/amenity options.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    82
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
92
56
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Boyne Highlands is a wonderful resort built primarily around a really great ski slope. There is a wide variety of accomodations: hotel rooms in the main lodge, condos arounds the slopes, and cabins for weekly/weekend rentals. All very nice, just depends on how many people you have and what environment you want. There's a great outdoor pool that's heated in the winter. I very highly reccomend this resort for winter.

Summer is a different story. The resort is still very nice, especially if you want to be right on their golf course (which is supposed to be very good, although I'm no golfer). Yet the charm of Harbor Springs in the summer is enjoying Lake Michigan. There are numerous places you can stay either on the lake or within walking distance. From Boyne Highlands, you would have to drive to the shore. Only a short drive, but the very busy street you cross makes it feel far away. Depends on your priorities...

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sashinator19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We have stayed at Boyne Highlands resort several times in the winter to snowboard and in the summer to cycle and golf in the area.
The staff there is fantastic. They bend over backwards to please you and are very friendly. They definitely make you feel welcome.

The hill (550' vertical) is well maintained and there are 55 fun runs with night skiing most of the season. Krazy Daze in March (around St. Patrick's Day) is a fun activity filled weekend for families or party people.

In the summer time the golf courses (we golfed the Moors) are beautiful and well kept. We had a late tee off time which was quiet and peaceful. There are numerous back roads for road cycling as well. The famous "Tunnel of Trees" is a beautiful ride in the spring, summer and fall. There is a pool, putting course, tennis court, basketball, hike the hill, mountain bike... lots to do even if you don't golf.

The food at the resort is okay. It's not a cuisine oriented destination so don't expect fabulous dishes or great variety but they are good and generously portioned.

Will definitely return again and again.

  • Liked — Great service. Good sport facilities.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monique62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2007

The Bartley House is at the Boyne Highlands Ski Resort in Harbor Springs, MI. It is a little off the beaten path from the Main Lodge, but it is within walking distance. I didn't like how there was no one at the front desk of this particular lodge......you had to go all the way to the Main Lodge to get an extra blanket or pillow. There was no Wi-Fi which was a total bummer. However, the accomodations were nice....PRICEY, but nice.

  • Liked — The ski resort
  • Disliked — The high price and NO WI-FI
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zimmazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Just returned from a Weekend mini Trip to Boyne Highlands Resort. I cannot rave enough about the place. My family skiis extensively around the world, and this was by far the greatest family experience ever. The Skiing was wonderful, just rmember it is a little mountian, Only 550 ft vertical, but what makes the trip so wonderful are all the extras.
We booked the Gold package, new for this year. Included in this Are lodging, Meals, Lift tickets, and Adult beverages.. Yes that's right, a SKI resort that includes the liqour.
Let me run you through our trip. We booked the weekend Gold package, you check friday afternoon, and dinner friday night starts the package, then ski saturday, sunday and monday, being out of your room by monday at noonish.
Now here is how it unfolded. We checked in at Noon Firday, they had our room ready so up to unpack we went, I had misundersttod the package, and was disappointed that we couldn't ski friday as that had been our plan. The staff, said that they would geive us COMPLIMENTRY lift ticket starting at 4PM. That in itself would have been wonderful, but they did one better, as we weren't planning on skiing Monday they started our package right then and let us ski friday. As a side note the snow was wonderful, they have a phenominal capacity to make snow there, and with the natural snow they had, It was beautiful. Dinner was in main lodge dining room, the wait staff is incredible. If you are like me and think that service is dead in America, I implore you to try the Highlands. After Dinner a short a nap we headed down to the outdoor heated pool. You know the kind were you are are comfy and warm and snow is building on your hair. We were thinking this is wonderful, but a drink would be nice. As if they read or minds, out comes a waiter to the pool to ask if anyone would like somehting to drink. Unbelievable. Again Service. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, the next day skiing, at the top of on of the lifts, the lift operator has a box of chocolate kisses, with a note on the board, "Stop in for a chocolate Kiss" Nice fellow, Service again.. My sister had rented skiis, she was astounded at how quick and effeicient they were, She needed to exchange her boots, no problem, no hassle.. Service again. Although no one in our group took advantage of their ski school, just watching their instructors work with the children was refreshing and enjoyable.
Check out was quick and efficent and the real kicker, it was even cheaper when we checked out than we had expected!!!
If you are looking for a place to take the family skiing, look no further than Boyne HIghlands, skiing isn't cheap, take it from a long time skiing family, but the value recieved at Boyne Highlands, had me smiling even when I paid the bill. You Children will thank you for years to come from growning up vacationing at Boyne.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — No Negatives at all.. Unbelievable
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank HotdogSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2005

Came up with the kids for a ski weekend and loved it. The kids loved the ski school. It had them up and running right past mom and dad in two days.
Went back in the summer for golf. there is a ton of great golf- like an up-north Pinehurst.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2004

Just gonna say that Boyne highlands rules and so does canadian week...Also theres been some good times at the place...an awesome vaction for sure...

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
3.4 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
6.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
21.2 mi away
Boyne Mountain Resort
Boyne Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Boyne Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Property: Boyne Highlands Resort
Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byne Highlands has grown to become one of Michigan's premiere all-season resorts and we've taken care to preserve the things that matter. That's why we provide plenty of excitement - from Zipline Adventures to horsedrawn sleigh rides - right alongside exceptional golf, dinner theatre, and countless opportunities for guests to share time together with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing