We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boyne Highlands Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Highlands in early August. Obviously no skiing, but unfortunately did not golf, either. However, the accommodations and other summer activities were more than serviceable, especially for families with kids of all ages. The rooms in the main lodge are small and dated, but if you are coming here to stay then it shouldn't matter, as the activities are ample and varied enough to keep you out of your room, except to sleep. During the summer, aside from golf, there is hiking, mountain biking (lifts are free), and zip-lining on the mountain. For the more leisurely-paced, we enjoyed the bar and patio outside the main lodge (at the foot of the "mountain"), where an expansive lawn was open for mini-golf, bags, tennis, bocce, and other lawn games. It was a perfect place to relax at the end of a long day exploring the Petoskey area.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ChicagoWiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 287 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed back in June with friends for a wedding. It was a very nice setting, excellent staff, good food, awesome views!
My only complaint would be that the complex is a bit out dated for the price. From the dining room, lounge, and rooms, it isn't worth the price. I will say though, the room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pclerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

There are numerous options for lodging at Boyne Highlands Resort. We recently stayed for a couple days at the "Main Lodge."

The lodge is a beautiful structure in a gorgeous setting. Our room was spacious and well maintained. Our "Family" style room included one bedroom with two queen beds and a separate bedroom with four bunk beds and another television. This is a great setup for large families. Right behind our room was a nice grassy area with a pretty pond with paddle boats and fishing for the kids. The outdoor pool and hot-tub were great. We received a discounted rate via a family member who works at the resort, so I cannot comment on the value relative to the price.

The service we received from the staff was top notch; friendly, courteous, and prompt. Restaurant food and service in the resort was excellent.

We've stayed at both Boyne Highlands and Boyne Mountain (about 1/2 hour south) several times, in both Winter and Summer. Boyne Highlands is definitely our preference. The setting is more serene, the slopes are more convenient to the main lodge, and there seem to be more summer activities available (including more golf choices.) Another winter benefit at Boyne Highlands is it's proximity to Nub's Nob (great skiing.)

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great service by all staff and the Young Americans were amazing!! Heather Highlands suites are very comfortable, beds are great and the bedrooms are very dark making sleeping awesome! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Heather Highlands Inn suites are awesome and worth the extra money. Beds are great and the bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BowlingMomMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nothing like playing the Heather on a sunny day, or the Hills, or any of the Boyne courses. The resort is family friendly. Always clean. Something to do for everyone. were lucky enough to live here in the area, Brother has a condo here at Heather Highlands, where well stay from time to time.Thumbs up at Boyne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to a wedding at the Highlands resort last week and it was more than we expected. The rooms are very nice and charming and the service is extremely friendly and accommodating. The golf courses are of professional quality and the views are magnificent. We will be returning for a long golf weekend soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in the Heather Highlands Inn with our two kids (ages 5 and 8). We had a one bedroom suite. The suite was very spacious---one bedroom, two connected bathrooms that shared a shower, kitchenette, living area with fireplace, and deck overlooking the grounds.

The suite was pretty dated. It was also kind of musty smelling. Both of my boys have allergies and they were sneezing a lot. I was giving them anti-histamines every day we were there.

The grounds are really beautiful though. They've done a great job with the landscaping--flowers everywhere. They really cater to families during the summer. There are a variety of activities out on the great lawn including boating, fishing, sand volleyball, croquet, mini-golf, tennis, and a variety of other lawn games. They also run the chair lifts so you can ride up the mountain. For additional fees, you can do a zipline, ride horses, or take a bike tour. They also have a bonfire at night and make smores.

We have stayed here occasionally when we visit northern Michigan. The price seems to really fluctuate. This year we got a good deal on the suite. It was right around $200 per night and that included free breakfast for the four of us. We've had similar years where the same package has run $400 to $500 a night (and we stayed elsewhere).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbor Springs
7.4 mi away
The Apple Tree Inn
The Apple Tree Inn
#5 of 15 in Petoskey
465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#3 of 3 in Harbor Springs
126 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Stafford's Perry Hotel
Stafford's Perry Hotel
#2 of 15 in Petoskey
824 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Petoskey
8.1 mi away
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
@ Michigan Inn & Lodge
#6 of 15 in Petoskey
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyne Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyne Highlands Resort

Address: 600 Highland Drive, Harbor Springs, MI 49740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Emmet County > Harbor Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harbor Springs
Price Range: $139 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boyne Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Byne Highlands has grown to become one of Michigan's premiere all-season resorts and we've taken care to preserve the things that matter. That's why we provide plenty of excitement - from Zipline Adventures to horsedrawn sleigh rides - right alongside exceptional golf, dinner theatre, and countless opportunities for guests to share time together with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Boyne Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boyne Highlands Hotel Harbor Springs
Boyne Highland Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing