We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice, but a liitle cramped.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Certificate of Excellence
BARROW
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice, but a liitle cramped.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A short distance north of Victoria, the hotel is extremely clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel sits fairly close to the main highway, so noise from morning traffic may be an issue at times. Temperatures were in the low- to mid-80's the week we were there and there are no air conditioners, which is about the only shortcoming of the hotel. Our room had two queen beds and four people, so it was a little cramped for space. Parking in the upper units close to the office is very tight and made for small cars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
29
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The inn is convenient being between the ferry at Sidney and Victoria. We had a single room with twin beds. Very modest. It was very cramped for two persons and luggage and close to the driveway so it was noisy at times and it was close to a major road. Parking is tight. It was extremely warm at night which is unusual and there was no A/C. That being said: The staff was very friendly, prices good, and it was very clean. Lots of hanging pretty flowers. I would return again as I understand the larger rooms are much nicer. It was a safe environment and I felt comfortable staying there. There are restaurants, shops and parks close by with easy access to Victoria and major roads.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room at Cherry Tree was very very clean. The staff was also very friendly and responsive when we needed help. The room definitely had a much better "vibe" than most motels. Attractive floors, bedspreads and nicely painted walls made the room comfortable to be in. We were here to visit the University of Victoria so the location was perfect.

On the downside, the beds are very uncomfortable (very hard) and the soap/shampoo rations were downright meager. I laughed when they didn't replenish our tiny bottle of shampoo the second day. It is right by the highway, but we slept with a fan on and didn't notice the sound at all.

Overall the price was right and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferV35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arrived at the inn which was on the outskirts of Victoria, about a 10 minute drive to downtown. We were led to our room by a very friendly gentleman. Layout of inn is a bunch of separate, small buildings, like duplexes. Upon entering, we took notice of the modern and unique decor, which was a nice change from other motels in this price range. Only complaint was the size; it was quite small for what we paid, especially the shower. Had a mini fridge and coffee maker. The room was very well-maintained. Another slight issue was the room was quite hot. There was a standing fan in the room, but it is a bit noisy. Overall, enjoyed the feel of the room, and the service, and would probably stay here again, but might spend a little extra for a larger room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Last year we stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn in a single room which was comfortable, but small. For our 2014 visit, we booked a "Junior suite" which proved to be excellent! A bedroom with a queen bed, plus a living/dining area with two queen beds, bathroom with tub/shower, fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, mini-grill, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster and a large array of dishes and cutlery.

We could really make ourselves and our pet at home in this suite and were so pleased with the amenities. Granite counter, stainless steel kettle and toaster, a large table and comfy bed. Lots of hot water, too.

Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with anything we needed.

I notice some negative reviews, which I think date to a time before the current owners.

We are so happy we chose to return to the Cherry Tree Inn for a 2 night stay this year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The double queen room unit is $95 including a kitchenette, wifi, flat screen tv and free parking next to my own unit.

Hard wood floor, supplies and decor are neat and modern.

The inn is 15 min hwy drive from Victoria with easy access to hwy. traffic noise is not noticeable.

Owner couple is friendly and available; office closes at midnight unlike some owner operated inns that close early.

I felt comfortable during my stay in May so I'm staying there again in June.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThYeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlucin, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Did stay only for a single night before morning flight from Victoria International. The motel/hotel was nice and everything worked perfectly. The price was good as well. I would not hesitate to stay for a couple more nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 53 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn

Property: Cherry Tree Inn
Address: 4879 Cherry Tree Bend, Saanich, British Columbia V8Y 1S1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cherry Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cherry Tree Inn, Victoria British Columbia, is located just north of the City of Victoria. The Inn is family operated and located in the countryside near Butchart Gardens, the Victoria International Airport and the Victoria Winery. The motel is located just 15 minutes from the downtown centre of Victoria, B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing