We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed at the Elk Lake Howard Johnson for 2 nights. The location was close to airport and close to everything you may need (grocery, shoppers, food)
My room was clean and spacious, I had a pool side room. Staff were very friendly. The only thing I was disappointed with was no room service. I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: my room was on main floor close to lobby. I was fine with the noise but if you like quiet I would r...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmrsG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Good Day
We are so very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. The staff take great pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodation. I am so very sorry that the front desk and restaurant staff did not mention that the restaurant does to go service to guest rooms. We do not have staff to deliver food to the guest rooms - but we do certainly provide food service for pick up to take to the rooms.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 212 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Being right next door to the pool makes this an obvious choice for team travel for swim meets; however, it was the other things that made this even better. The room had a small kitchen, the grocery store is across the street, there is a great coffee shop down the street and it is right off the highway for convenient navigation. I like this place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Good Day John,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. With our great location to surrounding services and venues - we host many teams for sporting events while in Victoria.
We are very happy that the room fit your needs during your stay. The staff really enjoy hosting a variety of teams while in Victoria. Thank you again and we look forward seeing you again in Victoria.
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Been coming here for the past 5 yrswhen visiting my mom. Its so handy with the bus and the ferry. The staff are friendly and professional. The rooms are always clean. Never been disappointed with stay or the food at The Lakes.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Good Day Teresa,
We are all so very happy that you have enjoyed your visits to the hotel over the years. The hotel staff really take pride in providing a great place to sleep and enjoy a great meal.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JTrowbridgeManager, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

i stayed there for 2 weeks and i had to change 3 rooms due to issues with rooms ,eg. poor internet connectivity.
Rooms were luxurious , especially kitchen suite.
But services were really poor.

It is pretty far from downtown and going to downtown was pretty expensive by cab. There was a bus stop near by but frequency was very less.

Good part is , elk lake and common wealth center was on walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anuag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Good Day Anaug:
Thank you for posting your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. We truly value guest feedback so that we can improve and learn from guest comments. I am very sorry about the poor wifi service that you experienced and we have had a company come and overhaul the system to ensure that all guest rooms have excellent wifi access. The staff take great pride in providing great accommodation and cleanliness and service and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had an early morning flight out of Victoria Airport. The hotels in Sidney were quite expensive so I booke this Howard Johnson and was very pleased. It is just off 17 which is the route to the Airport, is near gas stations to fill up before returning the rental car, and was close enough to Victoria's downtown area that we could have dinner at Red Fish, Blue Fish one last time. At first they weren't going to honour my "Monday Special" which gave me a $25 Gas Card with my reservation but after insisting they check again they admitted that it was part of my reservation and would be mailed to me. The room was a suite and so spacious! I would stay here again, definitely!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which was great. Leaving early in the morning was easy with no elevator...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonlou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Good Day Bonlou30
We appreciate guest feedback about their experience at the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria. The suites are a great size at the hotel and with our location between downtown Victoria and the airport we offer the best of both areas. I am sorry about the confusion about the gas card, we do learn from our mistakes. We are so very happy to hear that you would definately return to the hotel in the future. Once again thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I have reviewed this hotel before but the Howard Johnson's at Elk Lake continues to be my favorite. The front desk staff are always friendly courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and we'll appointed and the Lake bar and grill ( reviewed separately ) continues to please. Perfectly located for easy access to pretty much every major road and direction

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bctech58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTrowbridgeManager, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Btech58
Thank you for posting a great review of the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria on Elk Lake Drive. We are all so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will forward your comments the respective departments of the hotel. The staff take exception pride in providing outstanding accommodation and service. Thank you again and we look foward welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
929 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
296 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Dr, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range: $106 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing