We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Reviewed August 25, 2011

In August we stayed here and found room, restaurant, lounge all excellent. Very well taken care of, we are returning in September too do it all over again....room was in a n excellent location to watch over our classic muscle cars. Got same room back for the September trip.
Management very accommodating to uor group...thankyou.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanaimo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager11927, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in September. It was our pleasure, making your stay in Victoria a memorable one. YOU'RE WELCOME!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

The main building is traditional hotel with a 1960's motel that looks like a ski lodge attached out back. We had a junior suite in the back section. It was clean, quite spacious and well appointed, but the room was dark at all hours in spite of the sunny weather. Some people would not like the outside hallways and lack of secured entrances in this part of the hotel, but we were comfortable and had no security concerns.

The restaurant has a good menu for a hotel and all hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The location is convenient for Elk Lake and spots north of the city centre but a 20 minute drive into downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buytherules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissAdvisor, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel overall. We value your opinion and appreciate the time you took to share it with the traveling community. We understand that our West Wing does not appeal to every guest. We have made upgrades over the years to 'brighten up' this part of our hotel. We do have plans for this area in the future. Rest assure that there has never been any security issues with our rooms in the West Wing. We do have 2 hotel personnel in the hotel at all times at night. Ensuring our guests feel safe and secure is one of our top priorities. We thank you again for your honest review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I am checking out tomorrow after 3 nights but next week I`ll be here for 5 nights. There are no surprises here. Clean rooms & hallways. A friendly staff. A quality restaurant. A very nice outdoor pool area. Just like the brochure shows. I stay here about 12 - 15 nights per year. I have no plans on changing where I stay while working in Victoria. It`s all good. Well done HoJo!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissAdvisor, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate the time you took to write about us. Thank you for your loyalty throughout the year. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Came here for work - it was close to the office located in Saanichton. Hotel is easy to find, right off the highway. It's a typical 2.5 to 3 star place, a glorified motel. I wasn't expecting a 5 star place. But I was hoping it would be clean.

I checked the mattress and the first one yielded unsightly stains. The second one yielded a dead silverfish. I tried to tell the front desk over the phone why I wanted to switch rooms but they asked me to repeat what I meant by "bug". What else could I mean? I had to go down to the front desk and repeat myself again.

After a five minute wait they found me another room - this one was on the first floor with access to the pool. The room had 2 double beds again, one with stains, one without. So I stuck with the cleaner one and hoped everything would be OK.

The pool was convenient but short. It's also a little deep if you have little kids.

In short, I wouldn't go back and I let my office know not to recommend that place to anyone unless they up their cleaning and hygiene standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager11927, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the experience you had with us. What you experienced was inexcusable. However, we have certain procedures and policies about treating soiled laundries and since enforced that all soiled stock be removed from our inventory immediately. We always treat soiled laundry in the appropriate ways, however, in this case the mattress pad was not inspected properly and it was found on your bed. Rest assured we dispose of all soiled inventory.

In regards to the silverfish, we cannot begin to explain how the insect may have gotten in the bed. We take 'bugs' in rooms very seriously. We have regular inspections of the rooms with a local pest control company. They have since not reported seeing any more silverfish. Irregardless, we have taken precautionary measures with our staff to be more vigilant in conducting inspections when cleaning rooms.

We at the Howard Johnson are proud to have won International Property of the Year 2010 with our Brand and continue to receive Gold Metal awards year after year for our standard of cleanliness, and hospitality awards for our customer service.

We thank you for your review and apologize again for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

easy on / off the Hiway, great room & furnishings, microwave, perk coffee machine , small fridge etc., easy access swimming pool, jacuuzzi & exercise room.....great sports bar & restaurant.....reasonable pricing.

close proximity to local attractions, including Buthard Gardens, golf, city etc.

very pleased with knowelegable, informed friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originalhealinghands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

One of the first hotels into Victoria from the ferry terminal and likely the best. No problems and very clean. The food was great and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyall-sarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I was met by Michael the GM and it only got better from there, as if I were the only guest staying there; no surprise surprise they are always full.
It was some of the best hotel experience(s) I have had needing some well deserved 'solace' and quiet place, for cases in process of litigation; they staff was great, Don was excellent, coupled with Michael's most accommodating attitudes, how can anyone go wrong?
Located, just off the 'busy street', it offers a quiet suite, one looks forward to returning to after a day at the Harbour and/or after a 'tough day' per working; either way, it offers a pool/sauna and many other amenities that would satisfy even the seasoned/demanding traveller. The SERVICE/ATTITUDE is unmatched, only to be 'bested' by a busy/fun property, beyond worth every penny when you lay your head on those pillows.
Michael- thanks for a non-problematic time there, beyond; recommending family, friends and others whom are looking for 5 Star service at a 3 star price!
PHIL R.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uragr8lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saanich
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
959 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
812 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn Waddling Dog
#2 of 4 in Central Saanich
163 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 49 in Victoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake

Address: 4670 Elk Lake Dr, Saanich, British Columbia V8Z 5M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Saanich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saanich
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to everything you want to do and see in Victoria, the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Elk Lake is your alternative to being downtown. Whether travelling to Victoria on business or pleasure you will find our hotel rooms both spacious and well equipped to ensure a relaxing stay. Our rooms include all the little things that add up to a better quality of life on the road. Guests can enjoy complimentary parking, weekday newspapers, in-room voice mail, high-speed wireless and wired internet, and all in a 100% smoke-free accommodation. Plunge into one of the only seasonal outdoor heated pools in Victoria or soak your stress away in our jacuzzi. Our restaurant, The Lakes Grillhouse and Bar is sure to have exactly what your craving for Breakfast, Lunch, or Dinner; or watch the game over a beverage in our lounge. Our award winning property and our staff will do their best to make our stay with us a memorable one. We looking forward to seeing you here in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria Elk Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Suites Victoria Hotel Victoria
Howard Johnson Victoria
Victoria Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing