We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "MUST VISIT"”

Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Harbert
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A "MUST VISIT"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I hadn't been here in several years but I have noticed the increase of cars when I drive by on occasion. A unique little place in a very small beach town but definitely worth the trip if you're anywhere in the area. It was pretty busy so we took a table in the corner on the porch where we were comfortable but close enough to get to know the couple at the table next to us. The cafe is attached to a real bakery where the goods are made by hand daily. The bakery is closed in the winter months but the cafe is open almost all year round. We tried the dutch apple pancake which wasn't quite as good as last time but still very good. The carrot cake waffle was DELICIOUS!! Crispy on the outside, tender on the inside and hot enough to make the butter melt instantly. You could taste the carrot and the cinnamon. The coffee was excellent too. They were a little short staffed but still friendly and attentive. I'll be going back soon for a refill!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Busy and worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We love the Swedish Pancakes. And, try the crab cakes. So good.
Pies and pastries in the bakery, but our favorite is the Limpa Bread.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Don't miss it if you're in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a fantastic place for breakfast or to pick up some treats to go. The Swedish pancakes with lingonberries are to die for, and I liked the carrot cake waffles as well. Excellent coffee is served. The variety of fresh pastries in the display case was astounding. Come hungry!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place in the area! A must try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a cute little restaurant with a great bakery! The restaurant is small so it can get crowded quickly!.

I had the apple pancake so this took longer but it was worth it! This was not overly covered in glaze and it had just enough sweetness. The pancake was more cakey and I love that. I have had this type of pancake before and it is usually too sweet and sticky. This is not the case here. This was my favorite breakfast spot near Union Pier. The price was also good for a breakfast place

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I knew this place was going to be great when the waitstaff brought my 2 yr old daughter a set of kid sized silverware wrapped in a handmade pink napkin. The Swedish pancakes were fabulous and the potatoes were nothing less than YUM. It was so good we went back the next morning and stopped again at the bakery on our way out of town. Loved the homey atmosphere and the attentive service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank je1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery also viewed

Harbert, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 
Three Oaks, Berrien County
 
Sawyer, Berrien County
Union Pier, Berrien County
 

Been to Luisa's Cafe and Swedish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing