We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Complimentary Hors d'oeuvres and wine! Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbert House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbert House B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbert B&B and Inns
Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Complimentary Hors d'oeuvres and wine! Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

3 of my friends and I stayed here for our annual wine tasting trip this year for 3 nights. Nancy is an excellent hostess always making sure that her guests are happy and providing suggestions on things to do and places to eat. In addition to her wonderful breakfasts (including buckwheat waffles with bacon-wrapped shrimp one morning and fritta with sausage stuffed patty pan squash another morning) every afternoon Nancy provided wine and delicious homemade hors d'oeuvres! We aren't talking cheese and crackers either. They were all gourmet hot food (Nancy used to be a caterer in Chicago so she knows her stuff).

The house is a bit secluded but less than a 5 minute ride to many delicious restaurants and only 15 minutes to the wine trail. We stayed in the Gallery which is th largest room with 2 queen beds. It was a beautifully decorated room. The remainder of the house is also very comfortable. The large living room with couches and a piano is nice as well as the screened sun room is a great place to eat breakfast.

Overall I highly recommend this a nice getaway in this area of the state!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable with very spacious bathrooms. The gallery is the biggest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Convenient location right off Red Arrow Highway. Nancy was a wonderful host - friendly and hospitable, offering helpful information on the area, and a lovely chef. Room was clean, tastefully appointed, with a comfortable bed. Breakfast and hors d'oeuvres were tasty and made with local ingredients, not your average fare. Thank you for a lovely stay, Nancy!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fun-happy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We had stayed in Harbor Country a few times before, but never in Harbert or the Harbret House B&B. We chose this inn based on it's location and good reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The rooms themselves were very pretty. Nancy, the owner, clearly put a lot of thought into all the details as each one was decorated differently in its own theme. We stayed in the Sun Room. The Pear Room, which was a little larger than the Sun Room, also looked very nice. But the best part of the house were the common areas. It has a huge common area with a selection of books and games, which came in handy when we had a very rainy day during our stay.

Nancy also cooked us breakfast, and the food was great. You can tell she used to be a caterer. If you just want your standard Jimmy Dean sausage and hash browns or are a fussy eater, you might be disappointed, but if you like good food, you won't be. There's no menu to select from. One day, Nancy served home made coffee cake and waffles, both of which were great. The next day was an egg streudel with locally grown, in season asparagus wrapped in bacon.

The location was also perfect as it's right off Red Arrow Highway, the main highway in the area, near a lot of galleries and not far from New Buffalo. It's about a mile from the beach so close enough to easily drive there but not right on it so it's not the place for you if you want to walk to the beach for several days straight.

All in all, if you're looking for a good B&B in a convenient location in Harbor Country to have a leisurely vacation, this is a great spot and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We spent one night at Harbert House on May 14. The B&B owner, Nancy Watson, had previously catered several parties for us. She was incredibly accommodating as we arrived at almost midnight. Her B&B is quiet and relaxing; each room has a specific theme. We stayed in the "Pear Room" with lots of Pear nick-nacks in the room. We had a late breakfast which was totally delicious. We had time to catch up with Nancy as well. She gave us recommendations for where to go in Harbert and neighboring towns. Despite a deluge on the way to her B&B and rain while we were there, we had fun visiting some of the cute shops in the nearby area. It would be a nice place to bike ride if the weather had cooperated. The B&B isn't on the beach, but one could ride a bike or walk there. We would definitely go back if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEZACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Nancy is a great host who sincerely enjoys her guests. She takes time to talk to everyone & makes them feel welcome, even introduces the guests to the others. The inn is spotless, filled with artwork & even some of Nancy's personal collections. Breakfast is served whenever you want it, and a bonus was a glass of wine for happy hour. We've driven thru Harbert before, but now we've found a reason to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonk810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
716 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

While exploring the Lake Michigan shore line towns in Michigan we spent a night at the Harbert House B&B. Nancy is a very cordial hostess and serves a delicious breakfast. She also gave us some great suggestions for dining the evening we were in the area. The B&B is about a mile from the beach, but quiet and convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Our family had a get-together in Harbert and I arranged for my parents to stay at the Harbert House B & B. Nancy was a wonderful hostess. The rooms are lovely--all with their own bath. She was helpful with tips on the area too. Very convenient to Red Arrow Hwy. and the whole Harbert/Sawyer/Lakeside area. They loved the breakfasts she served and there was wireless internet too. Would definitely go back and recommend this B & B to others!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bargriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbert
18.6 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
18.0 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 5 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbert House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbert House B&B

Property: Harbert House B&B
Address: 13827 Prairie Rd, PO Box 8, Harbert, MI 49115-5101
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Harbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful place to spend a weekend away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbert House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing