We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hancock Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel when taking our son to college. Our room was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The hotel location (next to the worlds heaviest vertical lift bridge) is central to locations in both Hancock and Houghton, Michigan. It also made it easy to explore the Kewenaw peninsula with its historical locations and scenery. In short, this is just what I look for in a hotel of this class.

  • Liked — The room quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roadWarrior1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    203
    64
    18
    12
See reviews for
240
143
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August. We had a first floor king room----large room, sink separate from the toilet/shower, great shower, wonderful view of Portage Lake. The room had a small table and a small fridge. We slept with the window open----quiet area with a nice breeze off the lake. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — quiet setting, comfortable room
  • Disliked — a little hard to get to and not really walking distance to anything--especially if you aren't up to hills.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maresa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Stayed 2 nights--first floor room. A little disappointed because no balconies or patios--but the view from the window (lakeside) made up for it. The lake is beautiful and it is a pleasure to sit outside with coffee in the morning--and wine in the evening--and just enjoy the peace and quiet. Rooms are a little on the small side (we had 3 in the room) but well cared for, clean and complete.
Restaurant was very good--lounge was fun--and overall experience was great. 13 yr old used the pool a lot and was happy with it. Prices were very reasonable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Do not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HWAYMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2007

Nice view......Very clean establishment! Front desk staff was a bit uneducated about their job but nothing too bad. The restaurant staff was exceptional and the food was very good. COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW MUCH FOOD WE GOT!!! We love this hotel and stay here as much as we can!

  • Liked — The Restaurant and Lounge
  • Disliked — The front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarkio, Mo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2007

Stayed here for only one night and wished we could have taken the room with us the rest of our trip! We had a room over looking the canal/river between Houghton & Hancock. Everything was a little nicer than the average hotel: the linens and towels were soft and fluffy and a lovely beige color (not white and starchy); the showerhead was the perfect pressure and even the shower curtain was nice!; the bed and couch were two of the most comfortable I've ever experienced (I've stayed in 'budget' motels and 'luxury' hotels); the TV was even high quality. The room was clean and just really comfortable overall.

  • Liked — overall quality & comfort of the room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank baileymm1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2006

Nice property on river - great views. Staff was mainly students and lacked enthusiam and direction. Con't breakfast was just okay - could use hard boiled egg as several other chains in UP do. Ate dinner in hotel restaurant and was the worst food we had on our trip. Waitstaff barely adequate. Noticed that most people left a lot of food on their plates.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsBlvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Ilinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful weekend of snowmobiling in Houghton, Michigan (2/4-2/6). We stayed at the Ramada, which is right on the trail and next to a snowmobile dealership (which offers repairs for all models). The Ramada was comfortable and catered to snowmobilers-you will catch many and their tales in the pool/hot tub and at breakfast (however it was quiet). Right out the door you can catch some of the best trails, especially to Copper Harbor. Really a delight! Be sure and walk down the street to the Suomi (Finnish Restaurant-ask for directions) for awesome cinnamon rolls, pasties (the best I have ever had), pancakes and dunking toast-a true treasure. The people are very friendly and the town is awe inspiring. Get ready to ride!

Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
9.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
24.9 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hancock Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hancock Waterfront

Property: Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Address: 99 Navy St, US 41 & M 26, Hancock, MI 49930-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Hancock Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ramada Hancock Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - Hancock Hotel Hancock
Ramada Hancock
Hancock Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing