We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hancock Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

A little difficult to find, they do place signs out on roadways to accommodate finding the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean, flat screen tv, refrigerator in the room. The furniture is dated and well worn. Air conditioner/heater in the room is noisy, bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper. Staff is friendly and very helpful. Restaurant with option of outside dining and bar are attached to hotel. Continental breakfast is fair. Wireless Internet is good for checking emails or surfing web but not fast enough to stream a movie on HBO Go. I generally utilize the exercise rooms when I travel, however, I stayed here 5 days and found so many other things to do after work that I never had the time to exercise...went site seeing and hiking instead! Would recommend the hotel and would stay again when I'm in the area. Enjoy!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
It's not uncommon to hear we are hard to find. We try to make sure we give direction when taking reservations, if we know you haven't stayed before. I'm really pleased to hear that while you stayed with us that you did something different. The Keweenaw is a wonderful place to explore. There is a lot to offer any time of year. We are looking in to replacing the heating/ac units. Thank you taking time to write about your experience with us.
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    203
    64
    18
    12
See reviews for
240
143
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

For the past 12+ years, my family has been staying at the Ramada in Hancock, Michigan and every time we have the same great experience! Our room is always very well cleaned and maintained, along with the pool area and all other areas of the hotel. The staff is always very friendly and overly accommodating. In the all times we have stayed here, we have never had a problem with any of the Ramada Waterfront's services. The hotel's restaurant is fantastic! Make sure to bring your appetite, you'll need because the portions are huge for not much money! The view of the canal is breath-taking. If possible, I would highly recommend asking for a room that faces the waterfront, if possible. Our family will always continue to return to the Ramada, it's almost like a great family tradition.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
You couldn't have paid us a higher compliment....a family tradition:) Thank you for such a wonderful review, it's a pleasure to have you as our guests.
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I liked this motel/hotel and would stay there again, but they could easily improve. They did not clean my room one day. I was taking a nap when they would have cleaned it, and they should have taken the initiative to come back later when I went out and clean the room. They should tell people how to get there, as it is quite tricky. Crossing the bridge into Hancock, you can see the Ramada on the left and there is a sign on the right which says turn right in 500 feet. An additional sign pointing to the Ramada would be helpful. It is on Navy Street but there are no signs for Navy Street. I like to sit to dry my feet after a shower (not unreasonable) and the toilet seat is too flexible light plastic. Wood would be better to sit on. The front desk lady is very nice and makes a good impression. The restaurant is over-priced.

Room Tip: No elevator. It is 2 floors. I booked directly, and they should have told me this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a favorable review.
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very friendly hotel right on the water. Family gathered here and were all treated very well. Will recommend to everyone. You should book in advance. Breakfast could be better but there are good places around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrgLeadDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are pleased that you would recommend us to everyone. It's very nice to hear that you felt as if your family was treated well. I really liked that you tagged us as being friendly. Thank you for the nice review and hope to see you again.
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Got a million dollar water view for under a hundred at this hotel. Lake front with waterfront restaurant and pool. Can eat out on patio overlooking the lake. Rooms are pretty standard but very nice. Right across the river from a charming college town. For water view lovers, this is a great deal.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for waterfront. As you sit in your room, all you see is water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sedonasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us while in our town.
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Fl
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We really liked this hotel. We were on the way to copper harbor on a upper Michigan trip. Was a good stopping point from eagle river Wisconsin. We had largest room on second floor....two double beds....couch...Large screen tv. Had an eating area...is a good spot to tour u p....but we continued on. The restaurant and full service bar was wonderful....inside pool quite cool and appeared older compared to rest of hotel....i
But food was excellent including the service. The view out back is beautiful....if you like it....get a room with a view...although windows are pretty high.....really hard to find the first time....the hotel is right by the bridge.....front desk manager was knowledgable and very kind yet professional!

Room Tip: If you don't get a waterfront view.....then you will see parts of bridge and highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyDBrooksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
It does my heart good to know that you really liked the hotel. You did have the largest room on the property. Thank you for mentioning the view of the bridge. We are a small property and everyone wants lakeside. It's nice to know you enjoyed our Portage Lake Lift bridge. When crossing the bridge you do need to stay in the right lane to exit the bridge and circle down and around to find us. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stopped for the night on a motorcycle trip around the UP. Ended up staying two nights. Room very clean and comfortable, great pool, very good restaurant (huge dinner salads), helpful & friendly staff. Will stay again if in area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramadainnwaterfront, General Manager at Ramada Hancock Waterfront, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are glad that you stayed with us and found the property to be accommodating enough that you decided to stay two nights. We are centrally located for exploring the Keweenaw! We do appreciate your business.
Thank you,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
9.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
24.9 mi away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hancock Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hancock Waterfront

Property: Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Address: 99 Navy St, US 41 & M 26, Hancock, MI 49930-2155
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Hancock Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ramada Hancock Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn - Hancock Hotel Hancock
Ramada Hancock
Hancock Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing