We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We needed a place to stay in Hancock/Houghton with a dog and no reservation. We were recommended this hotel by another that wouldn't take our dog. For the money we spent we could not have asked for more!! It was quiet, clean (except for that hallway smell so many hotels have) very well maintained, offered a pool and a continental breakfast and was pet friendly! All for $70!! Absolute best value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
23
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

I was in town for one night on business, and while this property was not my first choice, it did the job. Parking was challenging, as the main lot only has spots for about a dozen vehicles, and the side lot was full of snowmobile trailers. I did manage to wrangle a spot while a group of sledders was out to dinner. Check went quick, and the desk clerk did a nice job telling me about breakfast and where the sauna was. My room was a single, queen bed. The bathroom was re-done recently, but the rest of the room was 70's decor. Walls are pretty thin. Shower had good pressure. Room had adequate temperature control, and a I used the old style winder air conditioner for a fan. The TV has plenty of channels. There is a pool and hot tub on the property but I did not use them.

Breakfast was continental, but they did have a waffle maker, along with juice, rolls, coffee, fruit, etc. They also have a back door entrance to the Kaleva Cafe, which is a very nice local restaurant. Check out went easy.

Worked for me.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

We've stayed at the Copper Crown many times and are planning another trip in the near future. The "newness" of a motel is not the most important thing on my list. It's cleanliness. We've always found the rooms and bathrooms to be very clean. The mattresses are comfortable for a motel, and I have a bad back. The WiFi has always worked for me, and the breakfast is acceptable. Never had a bad motel-quality waffle here. Handicap parking is acceptable, and we have an SUV. However, if no handicap places are available, space is a bit tight. It is a bit hard to find if it's your first visit to Hancock.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julwisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

I have stay3ed here over the past decade for business and pleasure. I have family here. Staff is friendly and helpful. Kalevala Restaurant (tasty local eatery) is just outside the door, local shops and Finlandia University is within walking distance. family friendly, this is a great place to stay with kids. If you only want a pool an amenities of a fancier hotel, they are located in the area. .This place is something you can count on time after time to have no surprises - just good old fashioned value for a fair price. Now my kids are coming up with their children.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

During Memorial holiday weekend, my wife and I stayed at this hotel. We got a corner room. It was a big room with sofa set. The room was clean but view was so-so (face a back alley).

The parking lot layout was weird. Maybe the location makes it so.

The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. However, the waffle mix was kind of too thin, so the taste was not so great.

  • Liked — Big clean room
  • Disliked — Parking lot layout
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smile100h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

My room was large, clean and comfortable. It was also very quiet, which is rare with these kinds of hotels. The staff was very friendly. The building was a little strange and outdated, but that wasn't a big deal. The swimming pool looked a little dingy, so I didn't use it. It was very hot in the room and the windows wouldn't open, so I used AC (although it wasn't hot outside at all). Overall, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Liked — great location, very quiet, clean and comfortable and friendly staff
  • Disliked — parking and the swimming pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coolclimates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

Older hotel. Large room with a small dining table. Unfortunately no view from the window. Sink outside of toilet and tub area. Good cable TV and fast wi-fi. Small indoor pool and whirlpool with separate saunas. Make-it -yourself waffles at breakfast. No tea bags supplied with the in-room coffee maker. Slow ice machines. Limited covered parking with large open over-flow lot. No elevator to second floor.

Helpful?
1 Thank bjt48331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
10.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown

Property: Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown
Address: 235 Hancock St, P.O. Box 217, Hancock, MI 49930-2003
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Hancock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels branded affiliate is located near Mt. Ripley Ski Area, Michigan Technological University, Portage Lake, Finlandia University, Coppertown USA, Houghton County Fairgrounds, Peninsula Copper Industries and Ojibwa Casino. The Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown offers guests an indoor pool, hot tub, free Continental breakfast served from 5:30 am to 10 am, free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, wake-up service, free parking with room for large vehicles,snowmobile parking garage, and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Copper Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hancock
Hancock Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing