We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So annoyed I only found this place”
Review of Kamel

Kamel
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Albert Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So annoyed I only found this place”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

So I have been in Melbourne for six and a half years and only been here for the first time tonight. It's amazing. We had lamb and lentil filo pastries, twice cooked duck, cauliflower and quinoa salad, chicken kebab and pilaf. Good choices. A couple of drinks each and all for $115. Service was great... Was quite noisy but not stupidly so. Can't wait to go back. Tomorrow. And the day after.

Helpful?
Thank Alimcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice surprise. ”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Excellent range of foods and tastes. Had banquet #4 and enjoyed by all. Cooking is light and filling at the same time. Seems to have a loyal local following. Will eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food always”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Kamel provides great, innovative Middle Eastern food. I have had a number of dinners here and have always walked away totally satisfied with quality of food as well as value for money. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ojunek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“extremely pleasant evening out”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

In the picturesque suburb of Albert Park, Melbourne, a group of us enjoyed a lovely evening at Kamel Restaurant, They serve mezze style middle eastern cuisine. The decor is burgundy in colour with huge middle eastern light shades that add to the experience. I'd go again. The price was $55 per head and included a glass of wine each

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Innes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Funky, Quirky Middle Eastern Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

First time eating at this restaurant in the very fashionable and up market Victoria Rd in Middle Park. The restaurant is made up of four rooms divided between two floors. Our lunch was for a friend's birthday and we had our own room that seated eight to ten people. Service was by young people who were pleasant and very helpful. The food at Kamel is described as Middle Eastern and in truth it does draw on Lebanese, Greek and Turkish cuisines with a modern twist. Most dishes are prepared for sharing and we ended up ordering about a dozen dishes. Some of them were outstanding: the scallops (beautifully cooked), chicken on skewers (absolutely delicious); duck confit in pastry and some interesting dips. We also ordered a number of vegetarian dishes and salads. These were freshly presented but my wife felt that some of them lacked something to bring the flavours together. There are some decent wines by the glass and bottle as well as jugs of 'middle eastern' cocktails. Our meal was on Mothers Day so the place was crowded but reports suggest that Kamel is popular most days and most of the time. Definitely worth a second visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamel also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Kamel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing