We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I went to aladin with our family the food is great usally the goat curry and ships kabab we tried almost 15 item overall s best”

Aladdin Sweets & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Hamtramck
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Middle Eastern, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
1 review
“I went to aladin with our family the food is great usally the goat curry and ships kabab we tried almost 15 item overall s best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Is the great place to eat reasonable price excellant food we all are happy. The somosa s was great .they also sales Thai authentic sweets which s made of home made chease we tried golapjamun was best

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to try Banglandeshi cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We decided to try Aladdin Cafe since it offered a lunch time buffet. It is a great way to experience a new type of food. We were greeted at the door by very friendly staff. We explained this as our first visit so we were given details about each of the dishes served on the buffet. As our lunch progressed, the owner came out to talk with us and offered us some tea. Definitely a place we will return and bring others with us to experience this friendly place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good, cheap food--Try the milk balls-!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Aladdin Sweets & Café serves authentic Bangladeshi food. Hamtranck is a city within a city---an area within Detroit with its own Police dept, services, etc. primarily Polish and Islamic. Safer than many other parts of the city, and with many good inexpensive restaurants. Aladdin serves authentic Bangladeshi food, which has similar names to Indian food: Tandoori chicken, dahl, naan, parantha, chicken korma, lamb dishes, saag panir, biryani’s. The big surprise was the milk balls for dessert---soaked in honey, made with butter, they looked like beets but were delicious. Tandoori chicken arrived on a sizzling plate over onions and peppers. Succulent and juicy. They also have take-out deli things to take your meal home and the ‘sweets’ refers to milk balls, baklava, and more. There are two areas to the restaurant—the cheaper side, which is where their takeout deli is, uses only Styrofoam plates, cups, bowls, and plastic utensils even if you sit down to eat in. All dishes except the tandoori chicken arrived in Styrofoam bowls. Décor is simple, but clean and colorful. A group of 5 ate for about $10 not including drinks, but including naan for everyone a parantha, an order of Tandoori chicken, and five dishes: lamb, saag panir, dahl, lamb vindaloo, chiken korma, okra plus 3 large orders of rice. Budget travelers, rejoice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msjones707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Bangladeshi Meal in Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Aladdin serves one of the best authentic Bangladeshi cuisine in Michigan. The staff are very friendly and able to help you with making the food with the right level of spice. They recommended good curry and biryani that was the best I have ever had in my life.

This is a must go place if you are in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ferdous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamtramck, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Desi food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Bangladeshi food, will find many locals eating there. It is not a fancy place but more of a carryout/quick eat place. Taste great and well known by everyone in the area. Often used for catering for parties and just good food overall

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keya707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aladdin Sweets & Cafe also viewed

 
Hamtramck, MI
 

Been to Aladdin Sweets & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing