We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food.”

Polonia Polish Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Hamtramck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In what was formerly called the 'Workman's Cooperative', today's Polonia Restaurant is hardly a well-kept secret (filled most nights with eager pierogi patrons and kielbasa fanatics) and the price points, under $10, makes it a huge Hamtramck draw. The original premise of the restaurant, formed in 1927, was to offer familiar Polish dishes to immigrants making the transition to a new country. Now, it serves equally well as a place for non-Poles to discover the best of traditional recipes, all from a spotless kitchen. As a cooperative, it no longer exists, but the spirit of good pricing, good neighbor jawboning and down-to-earth service still imbues the place, and countless leaders in the local business community can be seen in the comfortable booths and tables, enjoying meals beneath the detailed murals depicting Polish country life. Stuffed cabbage, kielbasa with sauerkraut, and pierogis are all homemade (including the sausage), and to be had at the reasonable prices that are part of the Hamtramck vibe. If you are brave enough, try the czarnina (duck soup), which is loaded with dried fruit and makes for a truly authentic flavor experience.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are Polish and looking for the good you grew up with, this is the place. Combination plate was a great value. Kielbasa and kraut excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarkgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Livonia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Polish Food in Hamtramck”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Enjoyed a lovely lunch at the Polonia Restaurant. The food selections were reasonably priced and delicious. Staff service excellent. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Hamtramck to stop in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good Polish dishes and great prices”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We original went another restaurant but it was packed so walked down the street to this one. It was a positive thing because the food was very good. The interior okay, nothing special but the staff was very nice and helpful. I had the "pork schnitzel with potato noodles". The schnitzel was not what expected. It was ground pork parties with seasonings but it was great. My wife had the Polish combo and the fresh sausage was very good. All the meals were were in the 8 to 10 dollar range so they were amazingly affordable. Definitely a must if your in the metro Detroit area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laneshinkansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
121 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The food here is excellent. Takes me back to my childhood when my great grandmother used to cook. There was nothing we are that wasn't delicious. The perogi were simply great. My daughter loved them so much she refused to share. The stuffed cabbage rolls were the best I've ever had at a restaurant. The side of beets were very tasty too, and I'm not even a fan of beets, but would eat them now. The ghoulish had very tender meat served with large potato noodles. Mmmmm. Cabbage soup was very flavorful and simply amazing. Not from Detroit, but we travel through the area a few times a year and this little gem will definitely be on the agenda each pass through.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grovetucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Polish comfort food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I loved the perogies. Farmers cheese was so amazing, and would wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone. Service was great, and the food... Wow, Dill soup, sausage, and the bread. Really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMcCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polonia Polish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Polonia Polish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing