We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent in every way”
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Lovely, Australian bush gardens great use of space for extra guest to stay, with quality linen, robes and towels supplied
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
You'll love the secluded, pet friendly cottage surrounded by rainforest
Lovely, Australian bush gardens
great use of space for extra guest to stay, with quality linen, robes and towels supplied
Luxury all way, comfort plus bed, fine bed linen, towels and robes
Great yard for  you and your pets to explore, play, swim in the creek and chill
Full kitchen with all the essentials plus much more to make cooking easy
Lovely decks with daybeds and seating with bbq area for the ideal holiday
Your own gazebo to rest in, read in and relax in
Explore the amazing creek
Pets having fun on holiday at Mount Browne Cottage
Large yard area
Relaxing decks
Amazing creek
Enjoy your own gazebo
Admire the Australian Bush rainforest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Upper Orara, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveFlm
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A charming, fantastic experience. We chose the Mount Browne Cottage mainly because they allowed us to have our two small dogs with us, the secluded location and cozy cottage was a bonus. Slightly difficult to find if you arrive after dark as we did, but that quickly gets forgotten as you step inside for the first time, the cottage is so inviting and homey. We felf comfortable, at peace and safe from the first moment we arrived on the property to the time we had to leave. The cottage is very well equiped with everything you would need to stay one night as we did or for several nights, all you need to do is supply your food. The bed in the master bed room was so comfortable, we had the best sleep that night. There are books, games, DVD's and a TV, which we didn't even turn on but it's there. There is wifi but we didn't bother to ask about it as we were there only one night and were happy to not use our technology. Cell phone reception at the cottage is very limited so keep that in mind when booking. Long story short, we would absolutely stay here again if ever back in the area. It's in a beautiful area, the cottage is perfect and it's so quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and quiet
Liked least: We only could stay for one night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but needs some maintenance attended to”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family were keen to try out a pet holiday in a rental house. The booking all went well and we stayed at the "Top House". Now this place is located on a nice rural property which is about 10 mins west of Coffs Harbour. There is a corner shop half way in if needed.
We decided to get takeaway most nights or you can cook for a large family in the kitchen with gas cooktop and electric oven. Kitchen has a dishwasher which can't fit the large dinner plates which is slightly annoying :). The open plan kitchen dining and loungeroom is very comfortable for relaxing. The kids loved the pool which has a nice view of the mountains. This property is not fenced to contain a dog, it only has rural type fencing. Also there is nothing stopping your dog roaming down the property entrance road towards the public road. The pool is fenced well. Annoying things which occurred were cold showers every night ( I assume off peak hot water ) , little to no flyscreens, no garbage bins near house and the water pump constantly kicking in & out when turning the taps on ( it also goes off during early hours for some reason?). I did mention to the owner that it needs to be soundproofed.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
This review is not for this property. I am not sure why it was placed here under Mount Browne Cottage. Could you please remove this as it is confusing to our customers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPTravell...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a nervous and protracted wait for booking confirmation (the only negative of the whole experience was that we found it difficult to get in touch with the owners) we were pleasantly surprised to find the place was even better than expected. So well maintained and very clean, the owners have really thought of everything to keep every member of the family (furry ones included) happy. Would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
Thanks for your comment. When you book, it goes straight through, nothing to worry about. Thanks for staying with us and the nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarsylove...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

What a gem. Couldn't believe it was available last minute New Year's Eve. Fabulously priced. This cottage has everything and is immaculately kept. Beautifully restored. Thanks for having us!

Only criticism was no phone reception, but that's not a bad thing actually!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
Thanks for the great review. I'm glad you liked it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendyj157
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautifully restored and decorated Cottage everything has been thought of”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at this beautiful cottage twice in October with our Ruby (Shizu/Maltese). The beds are beautifully comfortable, the lounge furniture also. The cottage has been restored with obviously a labour of love. Everything is tasteful and quality. The owners have thought of everything - a well stocked larder which you can purchase from - even a doggy bed with teddy. We felt very welcome and loved our stays here. It is situated in a beautiful valley a few minutes inland from Coffs but a million miles from anywhere. We would love to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That our furry family member could be with us
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, and we are glad that you liked our little country retreat cottage. Thanks again, Regards Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reneemaro...
Agadir, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Special Place to Retreat to”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A wonderful place to get away from it all. We arrived after dark and really appreciated the porch light, heater and electric blankets thoughtfully switched on in advance to ensure a warm welcome. Travelling with my parents and their little dog, we all loved the ambiance of this charming cottage. This holiday home has been thoughtfully prepared with guests comfort and convenience in mind, a real pleasure to stay here. Being a pet friendly property, I was surprised and very pleased to find it so well maintained, spotlessly clean and beautifully fragrant. The location is great, very green, natural and secluded yet less than 15mins drive into Coffs Harbour centre. We will definitely be back, and will be staying longer next time. Thanks to Anna & Emma for putting so much love into Mount Browne Cottage - a fantastic retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character, charm and thoughtfulness scattered throughout
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie F
Ballina, Australia
1 review
“Presentation and attention to detail was excellent”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

A wonderful venue that is so pet friendly,( with treats and a toy included), quiet, secluded, a lovely creek flowing through the bottom of the property, old world charm, everything that you require is supplied and much more....
Benson (the dog) thoroughly enjoyed his stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall ambience
Liked least: the through road past the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing